3.2.2 and Firefox like oil and water

I have been back & forth on an open ticket.  3.2.2 automatically downloaded and installed on my XP machine.  (I have since turned off automatic and opted for notify me).

I had the problem that others have reported where Malwarebytes would cause Firefox to not run.  It was also causing me other problems with Norton's Antivirus.  I uninstalled both Malwarebytes and Nortons.  Re-installed both and the same problrm occurred.  Uninstalled both again.  Reinstalled and then  followed the suggestion to turn off Self Protection Module.  That seemed to work for a short while.  However, Firefox would repeatedly hang and then crash, requiring a system reboot.  I was also then advised to place a list of files in the Exclusions of Norton.  Note that I have been running both these programs for several years without exclusions and never had any problems.  After putting these exclusions into Norton's, I had numerous other problems  Downloaded cvs or pdf files would not launch and open from Firefox.  Shortcuts to Excel and Word files would not work.

Went back and removed all of those exclusions.  Firefox works but still hangs and crashes after using it for a while - particularly when scrolling.  Again - necessitating a system reboot.  At this point, until there is a real fix for 3.2.2 I would like to uninstall it and reinstall 3.1, which was working perfectly fine.

• Replies 52
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

I'm sorry that you've experienced so much trouble with our product.  You may download version 3.1 from FileHippo here.

Please let us know if there's anything else we can help with, and again, I sincerely apologize for what you've been through in attempting to get our product to work properly on your system and I hope that our next release is able to resolve all of these issues for you.

18 hours ago, RBF said: