MVPS Hosts and HostsMan

greyowl

Thanks for the information. So, there are no drawbacks?

Nope, none that I can think of, at least as long as you follow its recommendation to disable the DNS Client service (which it will do automatically during install as long as you allow it to). It works great for blocking ads too, not just malware.

Of course, I wouldn't recommend a HOSTS file alone for blocking malicious sites. The Website Blocking component in Malwarebytes Anti-Malware PRO is still very effective and I see it block sites all the time that my HOSTS file does not.

Thanks again.  Do you use the MVPS hosts or do you recommend another.  

In terms of procedure, would I install the MVPS Hosts first (do I just click on the file and it installs.  Then the HostMan and Hosts Server component.

I am a novice.

BTW--The Post button isn't working at the bottom of the page--I have to go to MoreReplyOptions to get it to post.

They can definitely improve security of browsing as well as speed, particularly if you use the HostsServer component (which is now a separate install).

Actually the use a large etc/hosts file can degrade speed as it takes an inordinate amount of time, as a function of its size, to load the table and find an entry for every name resolution the browser (or other TCP/IP compliant application) has to perform. Browsers suffer more because many web pages load numerous URLs requiring many lookups to complete the page loading.

Resolution negation was never the intent of the etc/hosts file as it was designed in NFS and the TCP/IP stack for resolution in situations where there was a lack of Domain Name services.

Thanks again.  Do you use the MVPS hosts or do you recommend another.  

In terms of procedure, would I install the MVPS Hosts first (do I just click on the file and it installs.  Then the HostMan and Hosts Server component.

I am a novice.