Sorry if this is the wrong forum to post this in.  This is my first time posting on these forums.

I was wondering if there's a way to confirm if a USB flash drive is free of viruses, malware, and/or ransomware?

I used this USB flash drive back on Feb. 23rd with a computer (Windows XP) that was a part of a network.  The server was infected with Ransomware and all the files on the shared network were encrypted on Feb. 25th.  Supposedly nobody used any of the computers on the network on the 25th, so I suspect that the infection happened earlier and activated the Ransomware at a later date (I don't know if this is even possible).

I always remove the flash drive from the computer when I'm not using it, however, since I don't know when exactly the infection occurred, I really don't know if it was infected or not.

The tech that was hired was unable to decrypt the files and couldn't contact the hacker to pay the ransom, so we ended up replacing the computer with Windows 10 and restoring some of the files from an older backup.

There are files I'd like to transfer from the flash drive to the new Windows 10 computer (Computer #1) and to an older spare computer running Windows XP (Computer #2), as the backup the tech used did not have copies of these files.

After avoiding the flash drive for weeks, I decided to test it out on Computer #1 (Apr. 3rd), since I thought Windows 10 would be more secure.  After plugging it in, there was a notification saying "There is a problem with this drive. Scan the drive now and fix it."  I ran Windows Defender and the scan detected "no threats" on the USB flash drive.  I also ran a full system scan and it was also clean.