False Positive Report "Malware.AI.1094075843"

AvnDev

Hello, I'm a software developer responsible for maintaining a GitHub open-source project that is somewhat relevant. The project primarily utilizes Python and includes compiled executable file releases designed for non-technical users. Unfortunately, the latest upcoming version of one of the components in my open-source project has been flagged as potentially harmful.

The purpose of the submitted file is to ensure backward compatibility with earlier versions of my software. In the past (prior to version 0.3.5), the "updater.exe" was a separate executable. However, in the current version, the updater functionality has been integrated into the main program called "Fansly Downloader.exe." This integration allows users of the previous 0.3.5 version to properly update to the new version of the program. As a result, this upcoming release, version 0.4, will be the final release to include the separated "updater.exe." Due to this reason, the source code for the updater is not visible in the main repository, but it will still be included in the latest release, version 0.4. The only task performed by this file is to initiate the main program with the startup arguments "--update 0.4," which signals the program to initialize its own update process. This update process is handled within a specific section of Python code: https://github.com/Avnsx/fansly-downloader/blob/1a144ea3f87ee0b4cbb6f7465b01616143d13811/fansly_downloader.py#L67-L96

Here's a link to the submitted file's source code: https://github.com/Avnsx/test-repository/blob/main/updater.py

Here's a link to my open-source project: https://github.com/Avnsx/fansly-downloader

Here's a link to a Analysis with VirusTotal utilising your anti-virus program, which confirms the invalid detection: https://www.virustotal.com/gui/file/a1bcde28788c59f10cfcd2abb483e359e731f28f85f33e48b82226fcef792e6e/detection

Filename: "updater.exe"
Detection: "Malware.AI.1094075843"