Java 6U26 to Java 7?

daledoc1

Hello, all:

As an old, self-taught home computer user, I've never quite fully understood the nuances of Java (for running Java applets, let alone for "development").

JRE, JDK, Java SE, Java browser plug-ins, java browser "consoles", etc, etc -- the terminology is too confusing for me. :(

So, kindly indulge my wholly unsavvy questions about this, especially since I don't think I've had to do a major Java version update on either machine... :unsure:

Situation:

When I go to Java.com and test the installed version on both my Win7/64 DT and my Win7/86 LT, I am told I am running 6U26 (which is true) and that I am fully up to date.

(I only have 32-bit installed on the DT, even though the OS is x64.) Moreover, when I open the Java control panel, it confirms that the Java updater checked as recently as last night on the DT and shows that I am up to date.

However, as was posted here in another thread a few days ago (software updates section), and as I see here, Java 7 is in public release.

So, my questions:

1) Why am I told I am up to date both from within the Java CP and from java.com, with only 6U26 on both rigs, when clearly Java 7 has been released?

2) As just a home user (not a developer), I know I don't need the full JDK, but rather "just" the JRE, right?

3) So, the upgrade procedure is to download the Java 7 JRE installer (for the appropriate OS on each rig), close programs (esp browsers), uninstall everything Java from the Windows CP (there is only the 1 program on each rig), reboot and then run the Java 7 installer?

4) Does this automatically update the various Java browser plug-ins? (I know to uninstall all the "Java Consoles" from Firefox...)

5) I know there are potential security vulnerabilities NOT to upgrade, but are there any downsides to updating to v7 (e.g. system crashes, instability)?