.exe blocked in Vista

I am by no means a computer expert, and I know even less about Vista. The virus or whatever I have seems to block all .exe programs. The issue starts with bootup when explorer says its running, but its not completely open. I can open the task manager. I close explorer and then go to file then open it again. At this point, exlorer seems to be fine. I can use internet explorer to access the internet, but I cannot run any programs at all (It does allow me to download items).

I have tried everything. My Windows One Live Care states that it cannot open. Everything else just sits as if trying to open then eventually states that it's not responding. I have tried to open Malwarebytes by changing the name and by trying to open it from a disk that I copied from another computer. There seems to be no way around it. I tried ProcessExplorer but find nothing strange (as far as I can tell). I have tried Windows Restore and that does nothing for me.

I can open Malwarebytes in safe mode and it comes back saying everything is clear. I downloaded and tried rootrepeal based on one of your postings, but it freezes after a minute. I followed your other steps and have attached the logs from the DDS program. I can only turn on the defogger in safe mode, so I'm not sure if that helps or not. This is the log I got from that:

defogger_disable by jpshortstuff (23.02.10.1)

Log created at 12:03 on 28/07/2010 (Susan)

Checking for autostart values...

HKCU\~\Run values retrieved.

HKLM\~\Run values retrieved.

Checking for services/drivers...

-=E.O.F=-

I have attached the ARK, DDS Log and the Attach log. I have tried everything I can think of and REALLY, really don't want to wipe my machine if I don't have to. Any help is so appreciated. Thanks!

ark.zip

Hello scottie210! Welcome to Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware Forums!

My name is Borislav and I will be glad to help you solve your problems with malware. Before we begin, please note the following: