Jump to content


  • Content count

  • Joined

  • Last visited


About screen317

  • Rank
    Research Team
  • Birthday 01/09/1991

Profile Information

  • Location

Recent Profile Visitors

45,013 profile views
  1. Sherlock, Can you please delete this folder, reboot, and see if the problem persists? C:\Users\Michael\AppData\Local\Epic Privacy Browser Thank you,
  2. Hello, Can either of you provide a scan log from MBAM showing the detection? I installed your addon but am not getting any detection on my end.
  3. screen317

    Avast Driver Updater flagged as PUP

    Hello, This should no longer be detected. Can you update your database and confirm on your end? Thank you for reporting.
  4. screen317

    Security Check Tool

    For the record, the site still exists, but the program does not. That's an FP by BitDefender.
  5. screen317

    Advanced Systemcare

    Hello blossom and welcome to the forums. Our Research Team has been monitoring this application for some time and has decided to add detection based on triggers against our PUP detection criteria. https://blog.malwarebytes.com/malwarebytes-news/2016/10/malwarebytes-gets-tougher-on-pups/ The detection is correct and not a false positive. We will continue monitoring this application and if we notice a change in the behavior we will review it again. If for whatever reason you want to continue using Advanced SystemCare, you can simply uncheck the detections and click Next after a scan with MBAM, and the prompt will ask you if you want to "Ignore Once" or "Ignore Always". If you Ignore Always it won't be detected any more.
  6. screen317

    Advanced System Care PUP?

    Please see blender's response above if you have any further questions about this topic. Due to the nature of the responses as of late, I'm locking this thread. For all who come across this topic, unless the poster has "Malwarebytes Staff" in their signature, they are not a Malwarebytes employee.
  7. screen317

    False Positive with Auslogics BoostSpeed

    Hello paradoxical, The detection is correct. In this case, the software is a potentially unwanted program, or PUP. You can read more here: If you wish to continue using those programs, add them to the MBAM exclusion list and they will no longer be detected. Best regards,
  8. screen317

    SlimCleaner Plus False-Positive

    Dear DCE, I apologize for the inconvenience this issue has caused you. We at Malwarebytes have taken a more aggressive stance on "PC optimizers" and the like. You can read more about this stance here: https://blog.malwarebytes.com/malwarebytes-news/2016/10/malwarebytes-gets-tougher-on-pups/ I highly recommend working with our support team to ensure that all exclusions are set correctly and that all issues you are experiencing get resolved. Use this link to contact support: https://support.malwarebytes.com/?b_id=6400 Again we apologize for the inconvenience and are sure that our support team can help resolve this issue. Please do not hesitate to ask if I can be of further assistance. Best regards,
  9. screen317

    Is Malwarebytes unethical?

    If you continue to post the same content and request, we will lock your posts (and possibly hide to avoid spamming the community) and continue to direct you to our Legal department at legal@malwarebytes.com.
  10. screen317 Watchdogdevelopment.com

    If you continue to post the same content and request, we will lock your posts (and possibly hide to avoid spamming the community) and continue to direct you to our Legal department at legal@malwarebytes.com.
  11. screen317

    Venis Registry Keys?

    FYI we have delisted this software and this will be reflected in our next DB update.
  12. Hello all, Upon reevaluation, we have delisted this software and this will be reflected in our next database update. If you are still experiencing issues, please contact support here: https://support.malwarebytes.com/customer/portal/emails/new?b_id=6400 Best regards,
  13. Hello, Thank you for reporting this. Upon reevaluation, we have delisted this software and this will be reflected in our next database update. Best regards,
  14. SpyCar is a literal dummy file for testing antimalware engines. Notice the detection name is "Legitimate." Meaning it doesn't detect it as a threat, as you suggested in your post. I'm locking this ancient thread as it has served its purpose.
  15. Dear Stephen and welcome to the Malwarebytes forum. Upon further review, we have concluded that these detections are in fact legitimate and we will not be removing detections for this software at this time. Please refer to the following list of criteria that was used to reach this conclusion. Note that as the programs are nearly identical clones to one another, I may refer to them interchangeably. 1) Terms and conditions of use include receipt of advertisement and marketing. . 2) Terms and conditions of use include requiring agreement to comply with the incredibly ridiculous request to not use your software in "biological, or nuclear weapons." 3) Upon canceling a scan in DriverWhiz immediately after beginning the scan, the program itself reports no out of date drivers, and yet, remarkably, clicking "Register Now" sends me to a page that explicitly states that I do in fact have a driver out of date. The website somehow knows more than the program does and is incredibly misleading. See screenshot for details: 4) Clicking "CLICK HERE FOR LIVE TECH SUPPORT!" does nothing to help the user: 5) Your privacy policy completely throws users under the bus and leaves them less secure: 6) Your software is often found bundled on the InstallCore and other bundler platforms: 7) Your software is advertised in misleading ways, often with buttons seemingly looking to trick the user into downloading your software instead of their software of interest: 8) Our PUP detection is consistent with that of other vendors as you can see at VirusTotal.com. Finally, please also refer to our official PUP criteria here... https://www.malwarebytes.org/pup/ ...of which the following criteria apply to your software: Self-explanatory. Many removal guides have been published online (see one example here: https://malwaretips.com/blogs/landing-driverrestore-com-virus/ ) in addition to many users complaining about not having deliberately installed your software and having had great difficulty in removing your software. See some examples of many over the past few years here: http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/protect/forum/protect_other-protect_scanning/is-driver-restore-a-safe-program-i-cannot-remove/10dfcd18-986d-4c12-8cff-8abf9c4960f0 http://www.2-spyware.com/remove-driver-restore.html https://community.mcafee.com/thread/72415?start=0&tstart=0 Here you can find a consolidated list of angry users and their experiences: http://driver-whiz.pissedconsumer.com/ To summarize, these detections are indeed valid. We will also detect clones rebranded under a different name to evade detection. Best regards,

Important Information

This site uses cookies - We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better. You can adjust your cookie settings, otherwise we'll assume you're okay to continue.