Clean Up

RonB

Hello RonB and welcome to Malwarebytes,

Close out AdwCleaner, if it will not close select Ctrl - Alt - Delete keys to open Taskmanager, select AdwCleaner under "Processes" tab the select "End Task" close out Taskmanager..

Uninstall SpyHunter and reboot.

Open AdwCleaner again, see if it will now run successfully....

Thank you,

Kevin...

Hi Kevin,

Thank you for your help. I tried to do a Ctrl- Alt-Delete but was signed off so was unable to do so. Once the computer had restarted I did another scan and a clean then everything worked properly and I got rid of five PUP's. I still have not been able to uninstall Spy Hunter, is it necessary to do so and if yes, how do I get to it please? Please bear in mind I am not a computer expert and would be pleased if you could send your instructions in not a heavy technical jargon. Being 86 doesn't help either.

Kind regards,

RonB 

Hello RonB,

SpyHunter really should be removed from your system, if it will not uninstall maybe we can remove it another way. Run the following and post the two produced logs....

Download Farbar Recovery Scan Tool and save it to your desktop.

Alternative download option: http://www.techspot.com/downloads/6731-farbar-recovery-scan-tool.html

Note: You need to run the version compatible with your system (32 bit or 64 bit). If you are not sure which version applies to your system download both of them and try to run them. Only one of them will run on your system, that will be the right version.

If your security alerts to FRST either, accept the alert or turn your security off to allow FRST to run. It is not malicious or infected in any way...

Be aware FRST must be run from an account with Administrator status...

• Double-click to run it. When the tool opens click Yes to disclaimer.(Windows 8/10 users will be prompted about Windows SmartScreen protection - click More information and Run.)
  • Make sure Addition.txt is checkmarked under "Optional scans"
    user posted image