False Positives

WaxyChicken

Results of a "Complete" scan.

WPE PRO: HackTool.Sniffer.WpePro

WPEPro.exe

WPEspy.dll

WPE PRO is being reported as a "Hack Tool".

I am a developer of client-server applications (UDP and TCP protocals for

databases, games, and other legitimate programs).

i do not use this for hacking.

To call this a hack is to also call Microsoft Network Monitor a hack.

As far as i know - WPE Pro has no "run Silent" mode and using it on my computer

does not make me vulnerable to an attack nor does it mean i am hacking by monitoring my network.

i request this be moved to "Suspicious" rather than "Positive" because i do see a possible "Hacker Use" for the program.

but to call it a "Hack" when I'm using it for legitimate reasons is... <_<

Self-compiled application identified as "Trojan.Agent"

server/client UDP example source code compiled over a year ago.

an application that I myself compiled from source-code is incorrectly being called a Trojan.

It is a sample application for UDP communication between client and server in VS2010 VB.NET.

I'm including the source-code that i personally compiled. I reviewed the code before

submitting this report and see no sign of any malware or hackware or spyware coding

(source code VS2010 VB.NET attachment: source.zip 3.36KB)

i suspect the program was detected heuristically and am submitting the source-code to aid

in better heuristic-based detection.

I installed Mal-ware byte when my SAS-Super Anti-Spyware failed to find a google hijacker.

rather than helping, it just gave me false positives. :(

(the WPE Pro is not the cause. It is not currently installed. The downloaded and

extracted files were copied from my previous HD when i made the move from WinVista

to Win7 almost a year ago. Thus it is not the source of the hijack which appeared

only about 3 days ago. no virus goes a year without taking virus-like action. no

virus is active if it has never been executed at least once by a user or another