Possible glitch with updates. Did something go wrong?

Hello,

I have a question about MBAM. I have used it for years and have never experienced any glitches. However today it did something rather odd that it has never done before. Since I just signed up on this forum yesterday to ask another question, I thought I would go ahead and ask about this while I'm here and see if anybody can explain what might have happened.

I am running Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware version 1.51.0.1200. I am running the free version, not the Pro version.

When I logged into my computer this morning I updated MBAM. It updated its malware database from version 7068 to version 7070.

A couple of hours later, I checked to see if any new updates were available. They were, so I downloaded them. However, this time, it jumped all the way from version 7070 to 7082 (that's 12 new versions over a two hour time period).

I have been using MBAM for about four years. I know that it's great at offering several new updates throughout the day, but I have never seen it offer 12 new updates over the course of about two hours! In fact, I have never seen any program do that. This is why I think that something went wrong. Maybe some sort of glitch?

Anyone have any ideas of why this would have happened? Has anyone else experienced this or anything like it?

Thanks!

Hello and :welcome:

I am not on the staff, nor an I a developer for Malwarebytes, but I can confirm that the latest update is version 7082. I have not been in from of my computer all day today so I cant say if there were that many updates. I know at times they may have updates more frequently due to threats found in the wild, perhaps you may have not noticed since you only check from time to time since you use the free version. I have the PRO version and it checks for me in the background so I don't have to worry about falling behind.

Hope this helps with your question.

Thanks for the reply.