Jump to content

False Positive: WhiteSmoke 2011


Recommended Posts

When doing the quick scan with WhiteSmoke 2011 installed, I receive almost 1000 results. This is a legitimate program, used to help people write business, personal, creative, and normal works.

It is NOT the WhiteSmoke virus, which installs a toolbar, or the TDSS backdoor trojans.

Can you please whitelist these, so they do not appear on my scans?


Software Publisher: WhiteSmoke Inc

Software Publisher Link: http://www.whitesmoke.com/

Thanks much!

mbam-log-2011-03-07 (12-26-28).txt

Link to post
Share on other sites

Poor affiliate control (I assume) has led to a situation where many users being infected by TDSS are also infected with whitesmoke at the same time due to a combined malware package.

We will look into this again of course but this is what we found last time.

Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    • No registered users viewing this page.
Back to top
  • Create New...

Important Information

This site uses cookies - We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better. You can adjust your cookie settings, otherwise we'll assume you're okay to continue.