How do I know if it is a false positive or not?

katiekins

Hi all

I am new to all this in depth security stuff and just used to trust all my anti virus programme as with Malwarebytes.

Generally if I find an infection I just go to fix all and don't really look into it.

So my question is .... How do I know or suspect it could be a false positive? Is there a clue somewhere? Also by putting it in quarantine/ deleting it do I lose files and stuff?

I ask this because after finding several problems in the past week and just fixing most of them some of my programmes aren't working and needed to be reinstalled (windows media player is one, msn, and real player I was and I am still having issues with a sound problem? These all worked fine until I ran scans. Could this be the virus, the deletion/ quarantine ofn the virus or nothing to do with them.

For example the types of infections I have come up with are ....

Registry Keys Infected:

HKEY_CURRENT_USER\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Active Setup\Installed Components\{4925B664-BDFA-4E68-B325-EC00937E8110} (Password.Stealer) -> Quarantined and deleted successfully.

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Active Setup\Installed Components\{4925B664-BDFA-4E68-B325-EC00937E8110} (Password.Stealer) -> Quarantined and deleted successfully.

HKEY_CURRENT_USER\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Ext\Settings\{9FE088DC-C3B2-479C-A314-08F90CE5166F} (Password.Stealer) -> Quarantined and deleted successfully.

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\Browser Helper Objects\{9FE088DC-C3B2-479C-A314-08F90CE5166F} (Password.Stealer) -> Quarantined and deleted successfully.

HKEY_CURRENT_USER\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Ext\Stats\{9FE088DC-C3B2-479C-A314-08F90CE5166F} (Password.Stealer) -> Quarantined and deleted successfully.

Which shows I quarantined and deleted

and

Registry Data Items Infected: