Cannot update MBAM, and Error code: 730 (0, 0)

Hi,

I hope I post this in the right part of the forum, but I got an error from MBAM that adviced to inform the Anti-Malware support team that the program gives Error code: 730 (0, 0).

(I think I got a nasty...)

Windows XP Prof SP3 up to date, and AVP.

The events:

After installing the free version of Sunbelt Firewall a month ago I had seen no problems on my system, but when the evaluation periode of 30 days was over (I think), and the firewall went to a limited version, I saw constant harddisk activity (LED) in a very straight rhythm of 4 different ticks a second.

Pinned it down to the firewall by using MSCONFIG.

I started MBAM to try to scan my system, but the update i first started failed with a message that

"There's no working internet connection, or your firewall is blocking MBAM".

This was not the case.

I downloaded a file for manual update (mbam-rules.exe), executed it, and that completed OK.

But starting the program MBAM then gave the Error code: 730 (0, 0). (Same in safe mode).

Renamed the mbam.exe, and tried again but no luck, also the normal update failed this way.

This time, when clicking away the error window (Error code: 730 (0, 0) with renamed .exe), i saw my AVP and the Sunbelt firewall disappear from the systray, they stopped their services.

I had Asquared scan my system without any result.

I really would have this issue fixed :D , so is there a way to make MBAM make a scan again ?

Thanks in advance, Erik.

Hi and welcome -

Your version of the program is simply a bit outdated - Please follow these directions -

To Fully Remove and Reinstall a Fresh New Copy of Malwarebytes - Read Carefully

Windows XP:

• Click on Start and select Control Panel
  • Open Add/Remove Programs
  • Uninstall Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware
  • Restart your computer very important !
  • Download and run mbam-clean.exe from -->Here

It will ask to restart your computer, please allow it to do so, very important