I Cleaned Up Something, but it's hanging on by it's teeth.

Good Evening - -

At least, I hope yours is, mine sucks ....

I'm new at this, so let me know if there are 'better ways'. Thanks in advance.

My laptop 'acquired' this very aggressive 'sales pitch', which took control of it and (apparently) would not release it unless I purchased it's product. This also happened to me 9 or 12 or ? months ago and in the process of cleaning it up, had (through another XP computer on our LAN), downloaded and copied the setup program through the LAN to the hi-jacked laptop. In SAFE MODE, I installed it and ran it, still in SAFE MODE, then again after rebooting (after renaming it). All was well with the world! Yea!

This time, Mbam was still installed, but no accress. In SAFE MODE it ran and cleaned (apparently), but after rebooting (normally), I couldn't get Mbam to run, so I renamed it. That worked. Rebooting, still no access to Mbam or the NET. "OK, let's get on line and fix this" - Opps, no access, "that is a possibly dangerous site" . . . .

In the previous occurance, NOTHING (hardly) would run, THIS time almost anything would still run (and install?). so, using another computer, I accessed your site, downloaded the latest & greatest didn't change much, apparently, except the original 'kidnapper' was gone.

I re-ran Mbam, perhaps, 6 times or more. Some full scans, some quick scans. After each time, in thinking about how I went about it, I kept coming up with somethime else I either forgot to do or did twice or skipped steps, or SOMETHING. Finally, I decided to 'get more informed'.