Jump to content
franki

Restoring Hosts file?

Recommended Posts

It won't, no. The only time you're ever likely to actually need the DNS client, is if you're on a corporate network. Otherwise, it's actually an unneeded service.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
It won't, no. The only time you're ever likely to actually need the DNS client, is if you're on a corporate network. Otherwise, it's actually an unneeded service.

You can also enable/disable the DNS client thru HOSTSMAN itself via TOOLS / OPTIONS / SYSTEM in the newer versions. ;)

~Shy

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I know ;) (I also have files available via the hpHosts website that will do it for you too)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

i disabled my dns client and the internet worked fine but my Microsoft Security Essentials stopped working properly. It was the darndest thing. It turned red and it would not let me "enable" it or even update it. I wonder why disabling the DNS client caused my MSE to stop working? I re-enabled my dns client and now it works fine.

I'm stumped.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Did you reboot your computer after disabling the DNS client?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

yes. i did reboot. it was on the initial loading of MSE from the reboot that it would not ever "activate" from red to green.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Definately a bit strange as MSE doesn't actually need the DNS client service to function (it's disabled on all machines I look after (friends and family), and MSE works just fine). The only suggestion I've got if you do want to disable it, is to try re-installing MSE after disabling the DNS client, I'll get in touch with Microsoft about it in the meantime.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You might try FixMSE. It resets MSE's settings back to their defaults. I've used it on many occasions when I had issues with MSE. Just run the tool and click on the "Fix" button then reboot.

If that doesn't do the trick, go with Steven's suggestion of uninstalling and reinstalling MSE.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Definately a bit strange as MSE doesn't actually need the DNS client service to function (it's disabled on all machines I look after (friends and family), and MSE works just fine). The only suggestion I've got if you do want to disable it, is to try re-installing MSE after disabling the DNS client, I'll get in touch with Microsoft about it in the meantime.

i might try that at a later date. it seems to be running pretty good right now with the dns client enabled. i might just leave well enough alone. i spent 3 hours the last time i messed up the hosts file trying to get my internet connection back.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

@MysteryFCM

Well I just updated my HOSTS file & when I picked overwrite it went MUCH faster BUT I lost my exclusions (at least I didn't see my exclusions list when I clicked #Disabled) :welcome: I did save a back up prior to the update (But it appears to be of my ENTIRE HOSTS file, not just my exclusions), so I opened that from within the HostsMan editor after update and it seems that my exclusions have been restored but I am probably back to the HOSTS file I had prior to updating just now.

It seems that I need to choose "merge with current hosts" in order to keep my exclusions list or manually add them each week when I update (which would be a PITA tbh) unless I am doing something wrong :/

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Certainly seems to be different behaviour to what it should be :welcome:, apologies for the confusion :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

That's alright. No need to apologize!

It's not your fault at all! :welcome:

I'm just glad that I remembered to save a backup.

I dunno how many exclusions I have, but its enough where it would be a giant PITA to add them all again each time I updated. But it would also be nice to be able to have the HOSTS file fully update (remove URL's that are no longer listed for blockage, things like that).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I dropped the HM dev a PM a few days or so ago, hopefully he'll pop over here soon to help :welcome:

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Cool, thanks :welcome:

For now I'll just update it again and choose "merge". I'm in no hurry. Just as long as it's protecting me and I can get to the sites I have excluded I am a happy camper :) I am checking out the forums too btw.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Okay, just a little update here... I updated & clicked "merge" (only one update showed this time after I had 6 earlier tonight) and I do NOT see my exclusions list but I can still go to said excluded sites and they work fine.

Not sure how or why that might be happening?

Its just nice to be able to see my exclusions list, especially if something is there that shouldn't be that might have been added accidentally.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I don't have any exclusions so overwrite hasn't caused me a problem; yet?

~Shy

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

No problem with exclusions for me.

Both Export... and Import... work fine.

post-100-1277287937_thumb.png

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi everyone. My name is Rui Loureiro and I'm the developer of HostsMan.

If I understand correctly, you guys want to know if Exclusion List works the same way, whether "Overwrite" or "Merge" is selected. The answer is yes.

The only difference between "Merge" and "Overwrite" is that in "Merge", HostsMan merges all the updates with the current hosts file. "Overwrite" ignores the current hosts file.

Cheers,

Rui

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Cheers for stopping by Rui :P

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

hehe :P

Which reminds me, gotta PM you over the HM forums as I've got a new list for you to include ;)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thank you Rui for stopping by! :P

I love HostsMan, it is awesome and I've been using it for about 6 months now.

Just a quick question for you if you have some time. Last time I updated, I used "overwrite" instead of "merge" (like I have been the the last 6 months) and then when I went to Edit hosts and clicked #Disabled. my exclusions list was gone. Prior to doing this, I had saved a backup. I put that in there, and I saw my list again.

Then I updated one more time and chose "merge" and I did not see my list but I was able to go to and see my excluded sites.

So my question for you then is there a way that I'd be able to get my exclusion list back so that I can see the sites in the list? I just don't like not being able to see them because I won't know exactly what is in there and just in case something is there that I don't want I'd like to be able to see that.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You excluded these hostnames by disabling them? If you added them to the "Exclusion List", it doesn't matter if they are disabled or not, HostsMan will remove them from the hosts file.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks for your reply, Rui :P

I'm not at my computer right now but tonight when I am I'll get you a screen shot so you know what I mean, because I am not entirely sure how to describe it.

As far as I know, under "Open Hosts" (or Edit, I can't remember exactly) and then when you click #Disabled, the list that shows up is one's exclusion list.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Nothing shows up when I click on #Disabled

post-100-1277402949_thumb.png

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

This site uses cookies - We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better. You can adjust your cookie settings, otherwise we'll assume you're okay to continue.