Malwarebytes, AVG ID Protection Question

Hi,

I installed MWB Anti-Malware a year or so ago, and also have the latest, up-to-date version of AVG Internet Security on my computer. The other day, I downloaded a zipped mod for a game, and scanned it with both MWB and AVG. A few minutes later, AVG Identity Protection gives me a message telling me that it has noticed a potentially harmful file- mbamswissarmy.sys, which is located in c:\windows\system32\drivers.

So I did a search for mbamswissarmy.sys on the net, and it seems like it's just AVG detecting part of MWB as a false positive, from what I've read. However, I'm curious about why the Identity Protection would flag the file as a problem shortly after I downloaded and scanned the zipped mod. In the past, I've run scans with MWB loads of times, and AVG's Identity Protection has barely ever given me warnings before. It only did so once previously. This happened when I downloaded a game editor called Quark, and a mini-python installer package with it. A few minutes after I scanned these items with AVG/ MWB, AVG Identity Protection also warned me about mbamswissarmy.sys.

So does this seem like normal behaviour? Or is it possible there might be some kind of malware in the zipped mod/ Quark & mini-python installer? i.e. something that could be interfering with mbamswissarmy.sys? Otherwise, why would AVG Identity Protection only warn me about it just after I've scanned these files? Why wouldn't it alert me about it after scans of other files, too?

If anyone's interested, the Quark game editor can be downloaded from this page:

http://quark.sourceforge.net/download.php

The version of Quark I installed was 6.3, and I also downloaded the mini python installer from the bottom of that page. Unfortunately you need to log in to fileplanet to get either of them. I would give out the url to the mod, but it's currently in testing and the maker doesn't want it distributed yet.

Thanks for the help.

Hello springer_1988, :P