Jump to content

quarantine question


Recommended Posts

Hi, recently I happened to detect a virus on my laptop with your anti-malware program, anyway after the initial full scan I followed the instructions and the virus was neutralized, also I had to restart my computer in order for the program to fully destroy the virus, or so it said.

Anyway, after the restart I went to the quarantine section of the program and I noticed the virus was there, or at least the description of it saying the virus is quarantined. Because I made a mistake of miss reading the quarantine information, I deleted the virus thread thinking that that was necessary for completely cleaning up my pc from this threat. Anyway this leaves a question,

Did I by deleting the thread of the virus in the quarantine section just enable it to spread through my pc without the program of ever reading it as a potential threat again?

I ran the program 3 more times with full scan and it didn't pick anything up again. So, is the virus still on my pc and the program is ignoring it?

I also installed "spybot search and destroy" program after that and did a full scan with it and it didn't pick anything up as well.

Am I safe or not?

Link to post
Share on other sites

Yes, you are safe. By deleting it from Quarantine you removed it permanently.

There is also restore-function, that would have restored the infection to your machine :D The restore is there in case of false positives.

Link to post
Share on other sites

Yes, you are safe. By deleting it from Quarantine you removed it permanently.

There is also restore-function, that would have restored the infection to your machine :D The restore is there in case of false positives.

Thank you for explaining and for a fast respond.

If I may just ask, shouldn't there be some sort of an information display after a virus was found, telling the person that he needs to head on to the quarantine section and make his choice about the fate of the disabled virus?

I might be wrong but I just happened to stumble to the quarantine section, I didn't really have any idea that the program would actually keep the virus in case of a false positive.

So for example, if I wouldn't have went to delete the virus in the quarantine section, would the virus reactivate itself if for some reason the program would be uninstalled from my computer?

Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi nortd -

I might be wrong but I just happened to stumble to the quarantine section, I didn't really have any idea that the program would actually keep the virus in case of a false positive.

One other reason for using quarantine is if you have further infections and you want our experts to check your system, then there will be a record of former infections - Once in quarantine (or deleted) it has have removed the infection from your operating system fully, and regardless of keeping the program or not it has gone -

Thank You - :D

Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi nortd -

One other reason for using quarantine is if you have further infections and you want our experts to check your system, then there will be a record of former infections - Once in quarantine (or deleted) it has have removed the infection from your operating system fully, and regardless of keeping the program or not it has gone -

Thank You - :)

Thank you, thats all I needed to hear :D

Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
 Share

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.

Back to top
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

This site uses cookies - We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better. You can adjust your cookie settings, otherwise we'll assume you're okay to continue.