Mathxpert Calculus Assistant 3.02

TrDo

Hi guys,

Today upon rebooting my pc, I got a message from MBAM that it blocked a malicious process. Looking at the log file, I found the following:

DETECTION C:\Users\downloads\portable_mathxpert_calculus_assistant_3.02\mathxpert_by_pp\Virtual\STUBEXE\@programfiles@\helpwithmath\mathxpert\mathpert.exe Backdoor.Agent

This is a portable version of Mathxpert Calculus Assistant 3.02, which was made using Xenocode. I have been running it for quite some time now. I believe that MBAM doesn't like the Xenocode.

In the developer mode MBAM (Quick Scan), doesn't pick anything up.

Please, I would appreciate your help in determining whether this is a false positive.

Thank you in advance.

TrDo.

mathpert.rar

Hi Mieke,

Thank you very much for quick response. I know that other scanners do not like it either. Kaspersky don't like it either.

But, it would be nice to see, whether it is malicious in reality, or is just because it's something new and the scanners just react to it.

Thank you Mieke. :)

• Staff

After comparing with the original software and your version, detection won't be removed. The file you have attached is a component used in many backdoors (for example Bifrose/PoisonIvy)

http://www.HelpWithMath.com is where you can download the original one it and it doesn't even create a mathpert.exe file. Instead it's a mathxpert.exe file which has proper version info and is signed.

I believe you are using a cracked/hacked version here.

Just a moment Mieke. The question here is whether the code is malicious or not. This is a portable version made using Xenocode.

I said that from the beginning.

If you allow me to say that, comparing it with the original (not portable) is one approach. Another would be to see whether it actually acts as aBackdoor, and eradicates or creates malicious processes.

I believe its a false positive. It's the Xenocode that you pick up.

Please have a closer look. Please.

Thank you.

• Staff

Hi,