Malwarebytes Anti-Malware Paid Version

Hey, I was thinking about getting some real time protection from Mal-Warebytes. I currently have Avast! Free Antivrus and Windows Defender as well as the unpaid version of MBAM. If I get the MBAM paid version will it conflict with Avast? And should I disable Windows Defender?

I am only willing to spend 30 dollars on EITHER a paid version of MBAM or Avat Antivirus so I was wondering which one is better to get. I am not too good with computers outside of some terminology and OS knowledge, so I would appreciate some advice!

Thanks in advance!

Hi Jaqst3r15 and welcome to malwarebytes'!

Avast shouldn't conflict with malwarebytes. Although they did for a while I think that was fixed. For windows defender you should add malwarebytes drivers to defenders ignore list or it may conflict. You should see a box that titles "Do not scan this files or locations." is where you need to add them with the add button.

Personally I would purchase malwarebytes as it is a lifetime license. No longer will you have to pay and includes all future updates/versions.

Here's the files you need to add.

# C:\Program Files\Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware\mbam.exe
# C:\Program Files\Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware\mbamgui.exe
# C:\Program Files\Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware\mbamservice.exe
* C:\WINDOWS\system32\drivers\mbam.sys
* C:\WINDOWS\system32\drivers\mbamswissarmy.sys

I think Windows Defender is a little different for Windows 7, which I have. For the Win 7 Defender would "Do not scan this files or locations" be equivilant to "Exluded files and folders"?

Just out of curiosity, what is the difference between MBAM paid verson and an anti-virus program? or are they the same?

I think Windows Defender is a little different for Windows 7, which I have. For the Win 7 Defender would "Do not scan this files or locations" be equivilant to "Exluded files and folders"?