Free v Paid for protection

As a service engineer I am am often asked for free(ware) protection or told 'Ive heard program X can do it for free and is much better'.

Now I happen to think that buyers are much better served in the AV and AM market than by supplier(s) of operating systems.

Certainly prices are much more affordable (reasonable). Perhaps it's the competition.

Anyway I usually put it like this

"When you take your automobile for its annual service, do you ask the garage to only use water, not antifreeze in the radiator, in order to save a few pennies?

Compared to your investment in hardware and software why begrudge the relatively small cost of protection."

Comments welcome

Norton's and McAfee have some real deals on their software, unfortunately they have focused on marketing and profit potential not malware detection or prevention, the object is to cure and protect a computer, not increase market share and profits.

People should pay or donate for good programs but they should shun bad ones.

As far as I am concerned this program here has followed in the footsteps of a standard set long by spybot years ago.

Even if MBAM goes to trial from free some day I would continue to support them, since they deserve a big raise for all the hard work they do.

Paying 100$ for windows oem doesn't seem excessive, paying 20-40$ a year for antimalware does, it's all about the attach rate, if a million people bought MBAM next week I wonder what would happen?

You can protect a system just as well with all free software. Most software you pay for you are paying for added features not a higher level of protection. Norton and McAfee are two I never recommend. The are bloated resource hogs and don't do the job. They are also antivirus programs and can't really be compared to MBAM. While MBAM will remove some malware considered virus. It is not specifically an antivirus program. you need an antivirus with MBAM.