Jump to content



Recommended Posts


Updated a popular and stable FF add-on yesterday (through standard procedures, from within FF, not typing any URL into browser address bar).

As per routine, I restarted FF after the update.

As per routine (with many FF add-ons) the add-on's/dev's landing page attempted to open in a new tab alongside my home page tab.

Here is the URL for his web site:

http://www.soerenrinne.de/GoogleShortcuts/update.html (This is the page that should have loaded.)

However, when it happened, the page did not load and I got a malicious IP block alert for

(There was also something buggy with the update and I ended up having to uninstall it and create a new FF profile.)

I emailed the dev and he replied that:

>>The landing page is hosted at a webservice called

>>Strato (http://strato.de) and should not be malicious...

I wrote him back to explain that his site might be "good", but that other sites hosted at that IP range might be "bad".

I assume this is the case?



PS Have scanned with MBAM, SAS and McAfee -- clean

Link to post
Share on other sites

Apologies for taking so long. This range is blocked due to a plethora of malware and exploits residing across various IP's here (the last one was recorded in my database on March 7th, so I'll re-run through them to see if they've been cleaned/deleted yet)

Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    • No registered users viewing this page.
Back to top
  • Create New...

Important Information

This site uses cookies - We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better. You can adjust your cookie settings, otherwise we'll assume you're okay to continue.