FP or not: Rogue.Control Center?

daledoc1

Hi:

Query: Is this real or a FP?

Just installed MBAM < 1 week ago on both platforms.

Deep scans yesterday were both clean.

Quick scans today (after updating to today's defs (3591)) picked up the following on both computers (full log file is attached):

Registry Keys Infected:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Uninstall (Rogue.ControlCenter) -> No action taken.

Should I remove it, or is this real?

(And sorry if I am posting on the wrong board with this -- I am new to your software and to your forum.)

TIA,

daledoc1

OOPS!

What I meant to say, is "is this a real pest (IOW quarantine it), or is it a FP (IOW ignore it)?

AFAIK, I never installed this rogue product (and it did not turn up until installing today's def version). Moreover, the laptop is very new, so I find it oddly coincidental that this "infection" turned up on both machines. (Kinda makes me think it's a FP?)

Thanks for bearing with me, and would appreciate your advice,

daledoc1

Dev Log:

Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware 1.44

Database version: 3591

Windows 5.1.2600 Service Pack 3

Internet Explorer 7.0.5730.11

18-1-2010 18:42:53

mbam-log-2010-01-18 (18-42-50).txt

Scan type: Quick Scan

Objects scanned: 120527

Time elapsed: 4 minute(s), 34 second(s)

Registry Keys Infected: 1

Registry Keys Infected:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Uninstall (Rogue.ControlCenter) -> No action taken. [bE25B71FF674433DCF603A14EC6F27D2]

Please do, or you may end up with a blank Add and Remove Programs List...

Hi, Tony:

Thanks.

I restored it from quarantine on both computers.

(And I had created Windows RPs on both of them before the quarantine, just in case.)

As you can tell, although I'm reasonably OK with running computers, I really have NO CLUE about malware and nitty gritty details, such as registry keys and such. Kinda weird, b/c these 2 computers are running different Windows OSs...