Jump to content

False positive or legit result for CDWave editor v198


Recommended Posts

Hi, the scan reported that my (not yet installed) download of CDWAV198.EXE from http://www.milosoftware.com/en/index.php?body=download.php -- a file dated 7 Feb 2009 -- was infected with Malware.Sandbox.23.  Is that true, or a false positive? Exe is attached.

Their web site even says, "CD Wave is totally free of any form of adware or malware. Some antispyware, antivirus or antitrojan programs can detect CD Wave as being infected, although the application runs perfectly safe and does not pose a threat to your system. This type of reading is called a "false positive" and it occurs when antivirus software wrongly classifies an inoffensive (safe) file as a virus. The incorrect report may be caused by heuristics or by an incorrect virus signature in a database."

So, which is it? :)



Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    • No registered users viewing this page.
Back to top
  • Create New...

Important Information

This site uses cookies - We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better. You can adjust your cookie settings, otherwise we'll assume you're okay to continue.