Due to inclement weather in Southwest Florida, our Clearwater support team is offline. Our other offices are available to assist you, however their responses may be delayed. We appreciate your patience and understanding during this time. ×

False Positive on My Client's Website

JasonRoss
Go to solution Solved by gonzo,

I'm a web developer and am contracted to operate as webmaster for the website 

https://www.truevikingfinance.ca/.

White doing routine maintenance operations on the site, I encountered a page from Malwarebytes Browser Guard incorrectly blocking downloads from the WordPress admin area. I was attempting to download backups of the site. I tried to click the button to continue with the download and the first time it worked, but the 2nd time it went into an infinite loop of reblocking this site, and the only way to prevent this loop was to completely disable Browser Guard.

I checked my MBAM settings and the site is already manually set to allowed and should not be blocked like this.

I know this site is clean as I have security active on the site, including a firewall and daily scans for signs of tampering and there are no signs of any security issues with the site.

Please remove this site from any block list and fix the blocked site page so it behaves properly. IE when clicking on the "continue to site" button, it disables this warning and allows normal browsing of the site and downloading of files and not continuously loop back to the blocked page.

Edited by AdvancedSetup
disabled live hyperlink

What extension did the blocked files have?  DOC/DOCX? XLS/XLSX?  EXE?  The site is not on a block list, so it likely has to do with the action itself.  For reference, MBAM and Browser Guard are two separate programs.  One will tell you about many behaviors of the other, but they do operate separately.

Knowing more will also help us reproduce the issue (if it is reproducable).