Malware was detected on my computer - is my computer safe?

JPC

I know essentially nothing about computers, but I have both Kaspersky Free and a free trial of Malwarebytes premium. A little more than a week ago, Kaspersky detected multiple "network attacks" on my laptop. I assumed that because Kaspersky detected them, my computer should be fine. But two days ago, Malwarebytes detected malware on my laptop. So now I'm wondering whether this malware got onto my computer because of the network attacks or if something else caused the malware. If the malware was caused by the network attacks, then that would suggest that Kaspersky failed to block all the network attacks, right? 

I was told that if I follow the instructions on this page, then someone might be able to determine how the malware got onto my computer and might also be able to double-check to make sure that there isn't any undetected malware remaining on my computer. Is that possible? 

Again, I am not tech savvy at all, so I don't really understand what the "Farbar Recovery Scan Tool" is, nor do I understand what the FRST and Addition files are. But as long as I attach those files, is that all I need to do? Let me know if I need to do anything else. Thanks!

FRST.txt Addition.txt malwarebytes threat scan.txt

• Root Admin

Hello @JPC

That is not an infection. It is an installer for a program you downloaded that was detected as a threat. In many cases programs like those often install other unwanted software.

Please do the following. Temporarily disable Kaspersky and clean up Google Chrome

Then once that's done again make sure Kaspersky is disabled and run an ESET scan.

Let me have you run a different scanner to double-check. I don't expect it to find anything, but no harm in checking.

I would suggest a free scan with the ESET Online Scanner

Go to https://download.eset.com/com/eset/tools/online_scanner/latest/esetonlinescanner.exe

• It will start a download of "esetonlinescanner.exe"