Jump to content

Possible false positive after enabling "Advanced algorithms"


TempAcc
 Share

Recommended Posts

Hello

I have recently detected several possible pieces of malware - the 2 files that I have uploaded as .rar were detected in my computer. These files were flagged 4 times each in total, as they are found in several other parts of the same programs - Rainmeter, a desktop personalisation program.

I ran a full custom scan, set to detect all options, and flag all things, such as PUP's. These files were not detected by my Anti-Virus (Avast) or by another scanner (Emsisoft Emergency Kit), both which are up-to-date.

I have ran several scans of all types, of a range of security programs (Hitman Pro, Emsisoft, Avast, TDSKiller, RKILL, adwcleaner and ESET) and I do so very regularly. Never before have any of these files been flagged by anything, or have I had any sort of issues with these files. The files have been in my computer for a handful of years now.

The only difference between my normal scanning process and this scan, was that I had enabled the following setting - "Use expert system algorithms to identify malicious files"".

I know this is an machine learning based aspect to MalwareBytes, and following some research, I know it has flagged up FP before.

 

Should I be worried about these files, or is this just a false positive following the new setting being enabled?

If you need any more information/files etc, let me know.

RainRGB4.rar NXT-OS.rar

Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
 Share

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    • No registered users viewing this page.
Back to top
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

This site uses cookies - We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better. You can adjust your cookie settings, otherwise we'll assume you're okay to continue.