Jump to content
Meathead

Upgrade Notification Again and Again and Again

Recommended Posts

Ok so what was the point in v3 of having the option to disable notification of when a full version is available?  V3.8.3 will NOT take no for an answer.  Deleting the installer folder out of ProgramData only solves the issue for a few days (or less) now.  When you release a new version of the MBSetup.exe file, the upgrade notification comes back anyways.

Page after page of V4 issues here on the forums have convinced me to stay far away from V4 for the foreseeable future.

What can be done to PERMANENTLY block the upgrade notification until I decide to upgrade?  At this point it is bordering on harassment.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

***This is an automated reply***

Hi,

Thanks for posting in the Malwarebytes for Windows Help forum.

 

If you are having technical issues with our Windows product, please do the following: 

Spoiler

If you haven’t already done so, please run the Malwarebytes Support Tool and then attach the logs in your next reply:

NOTE: The tools and the information obtained is safe and not harmful to your privacy or your computer, please allow the programs to run if blocked by your system.

  1. Download Malwarebytes Support Tool
  2. Once the file is downloaded, open your Downloads folder/location of the downloaded file
  3. Double-click mb-support-X.X.X.XXXX.exe to run the program
    • You may be prompted by User Account Control (UAC) to allow changes to be made to your computer. Click Yes to consent.
  4. Place a checkmark next to Accept License Agreement and click Next
  5. You will be presented with a page stating, "Get Started!"
  6. Click the Advanced tab on the left column

    mbst_get_started.jpg
     
  7. Click the Gather Logs button

    mbst_advanced_gather_logs.jpg
     
  8. A progress bar will appear and the program will proceed with getting logs from your computer

    mbst_getting_logs.jpg
     
  9. Upon completion, a file named mbst-grab-results.zip will be found on your Desktop. Click OK

    mbst_log_saved_desktop.jpg
     
  10. Please attach the file in your next reply. Before submitting your reply, be sure to enable "Notify me of replies" like so:

     notify me.jpeg  

Click "Reveal Hidden Contents" below for details on how to attach a file:
 

Spoiler

To save attachments, please click the link as shown below. You can click and drag the files to this bar or you can click the choose files, then browse to where your files are located, select them and click the Open button.

mb_attach.jpg.220985d559e943927cbe3c078b
 

One of our experts will be able to assist you shortly.

 

If you are having licensing issues, please do the following: 

Spoiler

For any of these issues:

  • Renewals
  • Refunds (including double billing)
  • Cancellations
  • Update Billing Info
  • Multiple Transactions
  • Consumer Purchases
  • Transaction Receipt

Please contact our support team at https://support.malwarebytes.com/community/consumer/pages/contact-us to get help

If you need help looking up your license details, please head here: https://support.malwarebytes.com/docs/DOC-1264 

 

Thanks in advance for your patience.

-The Malwarebytes Forum Team

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Greetings,

This issue occurs once a new version/upgrade has already been downloaded and is awaiting installation.  The settings only control how notifications/upgrades are handled before that happens.  You can find further details on how to eliminate these notifications in this support article as well as this support article.

I hope this helps, and if there is anything else we might assist you with please let us know.

Thanks

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
13 hours ago, exile360 said:

Greetings,

This issue occurs once a new version/upgrade has already been downloaded and is awaiting installation.  The settings only control how notifications/upgrades are handled before that happens.  You can find further details on how to eliminate these notifications in this support article as well as this support article.

I hope this helps, and if there is anything else we might assist you with please let us know.

Thanks

Yes...  I'm well aware of both of those links.  Neither one keeps it from coming back.  I disabled the full upgrade notification when V4 was first announced.  Still got and continue to get the upgrade notification.  I've deleted the instlrupdate folder no less than 5 times now including again between my first post and this one.  That was less than 12 hours before the nag came back.

Again I ask, how do i PERMANENTLY disable the upgrade notification?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
13 hours ago, exile360 said:

Greetings,

This issue occurs once a new version/upgrade has already been downloaded and is awaiting installation.  The settings only control how notifications/upgrades are handled before that happens.  You can find further details on how to eliminate these notifications in this support article as well as this support article.

I hope this helps, and if there is anything else we might assist you with please let us know.

Thanks

And the behavior I just described happens on every PC I manage with Malwarebytes on.  Disabling full version notification and deleting the instlrupdate folder only works for less than a day until the instlrupdate has to be deleted AGAIN.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm guessing that in those incidents it may be due to a persistent registry setting or config file function indicating that a new version is available.  In those cases you probably need to also disable the option for Malwarebytes to automatically download and install application component updates however a member of the Malwarebytes staff may have a better solution.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I gather Malwarebytes staff doesn't have a fix either?  The upgrade notification is beyond aggravating at this point.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Unfortunately I doubt it.  Their solution is that first support article I linked you to above.  This is likely addressed in later versions of Malwarebytes, but obviously that does you no good because the entire point is that you're trying to avoid the upgrade for the moment.  The trouble is in the notification and update code in the build you're running, but there is no way to change that code without installing a new version so it is an issue without a solution I fear.  You'll just have to disable program version updates as well as the notifications and delete the folder mentioned in the first article I linked to after disabling self-protection to avoid the issue.

I'm sorry I don't have a better solution, however the Product team is aware of this issue so I expect it either is already addressed in later releases or will be in a future version.  Sadly that doesn't help for users of older versions.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

This site uses cookies - We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better. You can adjust your cookie settings, otherwise we'll assume you're okay to continue.