Jump to content

Recommended Posts

I was working on something in Firefox recently when I noticed this pop-up notification. Is this expected behavior from Malwarebytes? I've never seen a pop-up notification like it. No offense to the MBAM design team, but it honestly doesn't look legitimate and I want to confirm that this is legit.

MBAM why.PNG

Link to post
Share on other sites

***This is an automated reply***

Hi,

Thanks for posting in the Malwarebytes 3 Help forum.

 

If you are having technical issues with our Windows product, please do the following: 

Spoiler

If you haven’t already done so, please run the Malwarebytes Support Tool and then attach the logs in your next reply:

NOTE: The tools and the information obtained is safe and not harmful to your privacy or your computer, please allow the programs to run if blocked by your system.

  1. Download Malwarebytes Support Tool
  2. Once the file is downloaded, open your Downloads folder/location of the downloaded file
  3. Double-click mb-support-X.X.X.XXXX.exe to run the program
    • You may be prompted by User Account Control (UAC) to allow changes to be made to your computer. Click Yes to consent.
  4. Place a checkmark next to Accept License Agreement and click Next
  5. You will be presented with a page stating, "Get Started!"
  6. Click the Advanced tab on the left column
    0. UI.png
  7. Click the Gather Logs button
    17. Advanced.png
  8. A progress bar will appear and the program will proceed with getting logs from your computer
    19. System Repair Progress.png
  9. Upon completion, click a file named mbst-grab-results.zip will be saved to your Desktop. Click OK
  10. Please attach the file in your next reply. Before submitting your reply, be sure to enable "Notify me of replies" like so:
     notify me.jpeg  

Click "Reveal Hidden Contents" below for details on how to attach a file:
 

Spoiler

To save attachments, please click the link as shown below. You can click and drag the files to this bar or you can click the choose files, then browse to where your files are located, select them and click the Open button.

mb_attach.jpg.220985d559e943927cbe3c078b
 

One of our experts will be able to assist you shortly.

 

If you are having licensing issues, please do the following: 

Spoiler

For any of these issues:

  • Renewals
  • Refunds (including double billing)
  • Cancellations
  • Update Billing Info
  • Multiple Transactions
  • Consumer Purchases
  • Transaction Receipt

Please contact our support team at https://support.malwarebytes.com/community/consumer/pages/contact-us to get help

If you need help looking up your license details, please head here: https://support.malwarebytes.com/docs/DOC-1264 

 

Thanks in advance for your patience.

-The Malwarebytes Forum Team

 

Link to post
Share on other sites
Just now, Maurice Naggar said:

I found that blog as well. Considering its post date I'm assuming/hoping the MBAM pop-up is legitimate. I've just never seen a "Threat Watch" pop-up before, let alone a notification that looked as simple as this one.

Link to post
Share on other sites
Just now, Maurice Naggar said:

I am advised the message is legitimate.   Like you, I have not seen that style of messaging before.

Thank you for checking. Now my concern is that there is no option to disable these Threat Watch pop-ups without disabling MBAM's notifications entirely, which I don't want to do because I prefer knowing when MBAM blocks a malware connection or quarantines a file. Perhaps the MBAM team can add a separate setting for this in the future.

MBAM notifs.PNG

Link to post
Share on other sites

That's why I showed up here. I wanted to determine if this was legitimate. Thanks for letting us know that this might be ongoing behavior in MBAM.

I showed my husband the screen so when he gets one on his computer he won't think something is wrong and ask me to look at his computer.

Link to post
Share on other sites

There is nothing wrong on any machine.  The message is intended to bring people's attention pre-emptively about a very new variant of ransomware.

There is a related Blog post on this threat

https://blog.malwarebytes.com/threat-spotlight/2019/07/threat-spotlight-sodinokibi-ransomware-attempts-to-fill-gandcrab-void/

Link to post
Share on other sites

Seriously... WTH.  Just got this popup.  This is nothing more than "clever" advertising.  STOP IT!  All it tells you is there is something out there that only the premium version can remove.  I don't need THREAT WATCH pop ups.  Knock it off

Link to post
Share on other sites

Turn this crap off. I don't pay for Premium to get your blog update notifications. What a blatant attempt to get web traffic and sell services. You MUST allow a way to turn this incredibly rude marketing strategy OFF. What you are doing is so tasteless and shameless, I will cancel in a heartbeat if you try this crap again.

Link to post
Share on other sites

If that goddamn spammy message pops up again on my system while I'm working again, this software, of which I have purchased a premium license for on multiple machines in my house, will be uninstalled and the rest of my family, of whom I am their "tech guy", will be advised to do the same. What dumb-ass executive thought THIS would be a good idea?!?! If it's only for premium members, you have my damn email address, just send me your "notice" there...

Link to post
Share on other sites
7 minutes ago, Bubbha said:

If that goddamn spammy message pops up again on my system while I'm working again, this software, of which I have purchased a premium license for on multiple machines in my house, will be uninstalled and the rest of my family, of whom I am their "tech guy", will be advised to do the same. What dumb-ass executive thought THIS would be a good idea?!?! If it's only for premium members, you have my damn email address, just send me your "notice" there...

Exactly. Malwarebytes is now malware. This is totally unacceptable.

Link to post
Share on other sites

Absolutely a bad idea. Got a call from my grandparents (whom I installed a license for) because they thought they got a virus on their laptop due to this popup. Send a newsletter/email, don't give ominous, un-opt-out-able popups to drive blog traffic. I genuinely wonder who thought pushing what is essentially an ad to premium subscribers and end-users was a good idea. If it continues to happen and there is no way to disable it, I'll just switch products to something more respecting of their paying customers and who their customers provide end-user support to.

Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.

Back to top
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

This site uses cookies - We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better. You can adjust your cookie settings, otherwise we'll assume you're okay to continue.