Licensing - yet another customer lost

Preparing for a trip last week, I noticed Malwarebytes on my home computer wanted me to upgrade, so I did.  I've bought the 3 license version and used it for years, with no issues and faithfully renewing it...in fact, we bought another 3-license version for my wife's small business home computers.  To my surprise, the update informed me that I was now starting a trial, as there were too many computers on it.  Nothing has changed, but I checked online and found a list of 3 computers with only one with a vague description...the other 2 had no info.

Now I've never given my license number to anyone, and the reseller is a reputable dealer with never any issues.  I do, however, switch machines around a lot, and keep MB on my home computer, my laptop, and my back shop computer.  Since I've been a hobbyist for years, I frequently change machines, but the older ones are generally disassembled or assigned to media center etc. where there is no need for MB.

I had no time (or desire) to deal with this; leaving on a trip and I don't need more silly nitpicky stuff to deal with.  While it's possible one of the media center computers may still have MB on it that I forgot about, the last thing I needed is to worry about that.  So now I suspect I'll get home and find out my main home machine is now on a "trial" version.  Do I want to waste my time policing my older computers etc. to see if I can find a forgotten installation?

MB could have easily verified that the IP address was the same; I can only use one computer at a time regardless of whether it was on every piece of equipment I have, which it is not, but what's with the license  mentality?

You guys might take a lesson from Android; I buy an app, and I can use it on whatever machines I own...in fact, I could add my family to most of them if I wanted to bother.  Just install it, no license butting in with "whoa, you have it on too many machines..."