Jump to content
hnkhoh

ANSWERED [ RESOLVED ] Unable to activate lifetime premium license

Recommended Posts

Ticket submitted under 2639356 on 21 June  2019.

It has been five days & I do not seem to receive any reply from Malwarebytes (as of now).

This problem (Maximum Installations Achieved) occurred after  updating to beta 3.8.1.

I am unable to register my license under My Account with error - The product key you are trying to use is already registered.

The key is 100% legit which I purchased from Malwarebytes in 2008 & processed by Clevebridge

For your kind attention.

Thank you!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

***This is an automated reply***

Hi,

Thanks for posting in the Malwarebytes 3 Help forum.

 

If you are having technical issues with our Windows product, please do the following: 

Spoiler

If you haven’t already done so, please run the Malwarebytes Support Tool and then attach the logs in your next reply:

NOTE: The tools and the information obtained is safe and not harmful to your privacy or your computer, please allow the programs to run if blocked by your system.

  1. Download Malwarebytes Support Tool
  2. Once the file is downloaded, open your Downloads folder/location of the downloaded file
  3. Double-click mb-support-X.X.X.XXXX.exe to run the program
    • You may be prompted by User Account Control (UAC) to allow changes to be made to your computer. Click Yes to consent.
  4. Place a checkmark next to Accept License Agreement and click Next
  5. You will be presented with a page stating, "Get Started!"
  6. Click the Advanced tab on the left column
    0. UI.png
  7. Click the Gather Logs button
    17. Advanced.png
  8. A progress bar will appear and the program will proceed with getting logs from your computer
    19. System Repair Progress.png
  9. Upon completion, click a file named mbst-grab-results.zip will be saved to your Desktop. Click OK
  10. Please attach the file in your next reply. Before submitting your reply, be sure to enable "Notify me of replies" like so:
     notify me.jpeg  

Click "Reveal Hidden Contents" below for details on how to attach a file:
 

Spoiler

To save attachments, please click the link as shown below. You can click and drag the files to this bar or you can click the choose files, then browse to where your files are located, select them and click the Open button.

mb_attach.jpg.220985d559e943927cbe3c078b
 

One of our experts will be able to assist you shortly.

 

If you are having licensing issues, please do the following: 

Spoiler

For any of these issues:

  • Renewals
  • Refunds (including double billing)
  • Cancellations
  • Update Billing Info
  • Multiple Transactions
  • Consumer Purchases
  • Transaction Receipt

Please contact our support team at https://support.malwarebytes.com/community/consumer/pages/contact-us to get help

If you need help looking up your license details, please head here: https://support.malwarebytes.com/docs/DOC-1264 

 

Thanks in advance for your patience.

-The Malwarebytes Forum Team

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hello.    :welcome:

Sorry to read of this after effect of installing the Beta MB 3.8.x

Do a deactivate all on the My Account portal  ( if possible) & then do a license re-activation.  

Your Lifetime PRO license would have come with 2 "keys"   ( ie.   the ID & also the KEY).  Just be sure you enter them properly.

This is "a" help article on the My Account.   There are more.   https://support.malwarebytes.com/docs/DOC-1264

If you manage to get in there, The Subscriptions tab lists your Malwarebytes purchases and corresponding license keys.

You can Deactivate the license on that portal.  Then re-activate the license Keys in the program itself.

This is the Help article on activation    https://support.malwarebytes.com/docs/DOC-1142

{ side note, the error message - The product key you are trying to use is already registered. .....may indicate a complication.   }

{ do not try to "register" the license on the "My Account" portal.   Do the re-activation on your Malwarebytes on the PC. }

.

As to the loss of Premium activation due to Malwarebytes beta version 3.8x, I am sorry to read of that.

It seems to be a conditional situation on some rigs.   I would suggest that you run the Malwarebytes Support tool so that Staff can take a review.

See the how-to   https://support.malwarebytes.com/docs/DOC-2396

 

@LiquidTension

 

Cheers,

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
51 minutes ago, Maurice Naggar said:

Hello.    :welcome:

Sorry to read of this after effect of installing the Beta MB 3.8.x

Do a deactivate all on the My Account portal  ( if possible) & then do a license re-activation.  

Your Lifetime PRO license would have come with 2 "keys"   ( ie.   the ID & also the KEY).  Just be sure you enter them properly.

This is "a" help article on the My Account.   There are more.   https://support.malwarebytes.com/docs/DOC-1264

If you manage to get in there, The Subscriptions tab lists your Malwarebytes purchases and corresponding license keys.

You can Deactivate the license on that portal.  Then re-activate the license Keys in the program itself.

This is the Help article on activation    https://support.malwarebytes.com/docs/DOC-1142

{ side note, the error message - The product key you are trying to use is already registered. .....may indicate a complication.   }

{ do not try to "register" the license on the "My Account" portal.   Do the re-activation on your Malwarebytes on the PC. }

.

As to the loss of Premium activation due to Malwarebytes beta version 3.8x, I am sorry to read of that.

It seems to be a conditional situation on some rigs.   I would suggest that you run the Malwarebytes Support tool so that Staff can take a review.

See the how-to   https://support.malwarebytes.com/docs/DOC-2396

 

@LiquidTension

 

Cheers,

Thanks for the detailed response. 

I am unable to register this license key under My Account (error: The product key you are trying to use is already registered.). 

Tried many times registering the ID/License Key but unsuccessful, the error always read - The product key you are trying to use is already registered

There is nothing for me to deactivate/re-activate under My Account. 

I did run the support tool on 21 June 2019 & the report was also sent on the same day when submitted the ticket. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

There is nothing under subscription & I cannot add my ID/License Key. 

I have quoted Cleverbridge reference no (after obtaining it from Cleverbridge) in my second reply to the ticket. 

 

Screenshot_20190626_124932.jpg

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi there @hnkhoh

Sorry for the issue. I will send a message and ask one of our support team members to take a look at your ticket and assist you.

Thank you

Ron

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I believe your issue should now be resolved. Please try to activate and let us know. Someone has replied to your ticket as well.

Cheers

Ron

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
51 minutes ago, AdvancedSetup said:

I believe your issue should now be resolved. Please try to activate and let us know. Someone has replied to your ticket as well.

Cheers

Ron

 

Hello Ron, 

Thank you for the following up. 

My laptop is not with me currently, I will let you know when I am able to activate. 

As I mentioned to your support staff, my issue is not completely solved as I am still unable to register the license under My Account (see attached). 
 
The product key is registered to who? 
 
In the event this happens again, I will need to contact support? 
 
Thank you. 

 

Screenshot_20190626_154617.jpg

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Please reply to your support ticket and let them know. They should be able to get that resolved as well

Ron

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, AdvancedSetup said:

Please reply to your support ticket and let them know. They should be able to get that resolved as well

Ron

 

I have already replied to support ticket before replying this thread.

An update, no problem activating my license on my laptop.

I will update this thread once the issue of unable to register  product key is resolved.

Thank you again!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Just some rant here -
If you are on Windows 7 as well... consider switching to Linux -
You will kill 2 birds with one stone.
No more the Anti-Malware need on your OS and everything is pretty much FREE there!!!

sadly MB, under the new management, seem to have forgotten their humble roots when they nearly went under several times... it seems.
The time will come when all the FANGS goes under or force to modify drasticaly down - what is left then on western-platform??? MB?!

And the fact, if MB did allow, more than one device connected, they themselves has already breach their policy, giving the customer the 'comfort' of using in on multiple device.
Yet, to date, I have yet heard from MB, to prove the lifetime deal was indeed, 1 lic for 1 device
Somehow I remember it as 1 lic for 3 device, which was very common back then,
and MB was competing to the BIG AVs, how would they offer a lesser deal? But not proof from me... or them.
Does anyone still have a copy or screen shot of the ad sale they offer back then?

I am very grateful for all the service MB has offered and glad to see MB doing well
but this sudden and unannounce 'pulling the carpet under your first-base loyal customer's feet' is ****
MB was the one who allow the 'breach of policy' and now if they want to correct it, the mistake they committ onto themselves,
they should at least give the customer warning and time to switch to something else
Or MB can offer something of equivalent... they have already sown some very bad seeds here...

Just my 2c here... anyhow I am closer to Full and ONLY Linux every day now... even if I have a MB lifetime lucky deal...
one more reason for me to leave the old school amangement-policy behind... sadly
What if MB decide to unofficially terminate the lifetime lic as well?! They won't? Why not? they are a honourable business? How do you know?!
These has happened in other company product as well - no company, once they grown to stable and profitable, likes lifetime deal... and left-over old-unprofitable customers
Do consider the longer term implications...
Just some rant here -

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I've been hanging around these forums since before Malwarebytes Anti-Malware even existed (back when the only product they had was RogueRemover) and I was around through the first betas for the original Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware product and actually started working for Malwarebytes as their first QA and eventually became their first Product Manager (I was in charge of all products, including Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware) and I know for a fact that it was always 1 device per license for Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware Pro lifetime licenses.  They weren't competing with big AVs back then because they always marketed themselves as a complementary solution to be run alongside an active antivirus/IS solution (the layered approach to security) and only began marketing Malwarebytes as an AV replacement with the launch of Malwarebytes 3, and by then they had already gone to a yearly subscription.  I think what might be confusing a lot of people is that early on when Malwarebytes first changed over to the yearly subscription model rather than the lifetime license model, they did only offer 1 license for 3 devices (though it was for a yearly fee, obviously, not lifetime) and this was the first time Malwarebytes offered anything other than single device licenses for consumers (business licensing was always handled differently and was always based on yearly subscriptions from the start) and I believe that may be what many users are remembering; either that, or some unscrupulous sellers pushing fake licenses/cracks etc. may have been advertising it as a 3 device per license solution since that was the standard for the big AVs at the time and such scammers would often copy/paste much of their content from one product page to another, only changing the product name, images and pricing as necessary.

As for the allowance Malwarebytes made for multiple activations in the past, this was only to avoid blacklisting users' licenses when they moved their key from one device to another or uninstalled/reinstalled the product or reformatted/reinstalled Windows and reinstalled the product afterwards because they didn't have the infrastructure back then to properly enforce their licensing as they do now.  This is also why so many fake licenses had worked for such a long time up until recently because Malwarebytes finally put in place full license enforcement alongside license tracking (they always knew which keys were which and could tell by activation numbers which ones were being resold constantly by scammers and this is part of the reason they did the amnesty program back when they first changed over to a yearly subscription because they didn't want to leave all those users out in the cold, especially since many of them didn't realize they were using pirated/fake license keys).

Today Malwarebytes has a much more robust licensing solution in place that enables them to track not just the keys and users as they did previously, but also to identify specifically each device a license is active on where before they could only see the number of times a license was activated (and they couldn't see where it was still active only that it had been at some point; another reason they were so lax on enforcement back then).  Now they've got all their ducks in a row and are keeping track of things accurately and so they are now able to confidently enforce their licensing/number of devices properly.

By the way, I can speak from first-hand experience having been in a high position at Malwarebytes for close to 8 years, including throughout their largest growth periods leading up to the release of Malwarebytes 3 (as well as for a while afterwards), and I can say with 100% certainty that Malwarebytes was never in any kind of financial trouble or at risk for going out of business.  They have only grown since the company was first established (they had around maybe 40 employees when I first started with the company and by the time I left they had hundreds with offices on several continents and multiple offices in their home country of the United States).  They are still growing and all these changes and improvements (including the new My Account web portal and the improved license validation/tracking systems) are clear indicators of that, not to mention the fact that they have been able to turn down every offer they've received from many of the big AVs and other companies trying to buy them out.  They are still a privately owned company and they aren't hurting for business as far as I can tell based on how they continue to expand their product portfolio and improve their existing offerings.

These current issues with license validation are just the last remnant of the past licensing system, but once everyone gets their keys set up and fully activated in the current licensing system and My Account portal, dealing with license activation/deactivation will be much easier (I speak from first-hand experience having several lifetime licenses of my own which I too had to contact Malwarebytes Support to get tied to my My.Malwarebytes.com account, but now that they are I can see each license and device it is installed on and can easily deactivate it from there to move it to a new device or OS installation).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

@exile360
Thanks for the reply and your clarification.
One can only trust what you share here is true.
Or one can leave.
Again MB is a great product, from its inception until now. No doubt about that!
Its not about the product, but ppl who manages the company and its policy.
But I do concur with you - the dishonest fake lic is totally out of control to the point it is affecting the company branding.
p/s I see you have a nice rig there :) Mine is just plain old nothing, thus prob more suited to Linux anyway, now that MB is using more and more RAM.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

No problem, with everything that's happening lately I can totally understand why you might have those impressions, but I assure you the same people are still running the company and their goals of making the best anti-malware solutions out there have not changed (this is why they still offer the free version without any limitations on how long a user can keep it, update it, scan with it and remove every threat or PUP it detects with it; they feel that the users who see the value in the additional features offered by the Premium version and want that protection will be willing to pay for it and for everyone else they are still willing to help them to keep their systems clean (this is also why they continue to offer free expert assistance with computer issues and malware removal here on the forums free of charge for everyone, not just paid Malwarebytes customers)).

Obviously some things have had to change as the company has grown, but this is normal for all businesses in the software industry because the way a small startup operates and functions is fundamentally different from how a much larger company must operate because a lot of startup methods don't scale and of course larger companies get more attention and are more scrutinized by governments, other businesses and of course consumers so they have to ensure that everything that they do is in line with all regulations and laws and that they have all the appropriate legalese (EULAs, disclaimers etc.) that they are required to have.  Smaller companies and indie developers don't have to worry about that stuff as much, but the larger ones do and this can force them to rethink some of the ways they do things, and of course as they take on more users and customers they are held to higher expectations with regards to functionality outside of the core features of the products they offer (things like a licensing portal for managing licenses and devices for example; something most security software vendors have these days) and so Malwarebytes is growing into that role and taking on these additional responsibilities and rolling out these new and enhanced features, however thankfully they still have the same brilliant Researchers and Developers they've always had and they've expanded those teams to build more powerful tools for the war against malware and they continue to bring more features to their core product Malwarebytes Premium to stay on top of the latest threats and methods in use by the bad guys.

Yep, I've had this rig for a few years now and I still love it.  It handles everything I throw at it and then some.  I saved up for a long time to get it and chose very carefully every piece of hardware in it in the hopes that it would last me a long time and so far it still tackles everything I need it to quite handily.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
50 minutes ago, PaulTall said:

Happened to me too. I've been with MB since Day 1 and actually paid for a license

If you're still having trouble activating your license, please contact Malwarebytes Support directly by filling out the form on the bottom of this page and they'll help you out to get your license back up and running again.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
42 minutes ago, exile360 said:

If you're still having trouble activating your license, please contact Malwarebytes Support directly by filling out the form on the bottom of this page and they'll help you out to get your license back up and running again.

I shouldn't have to go through all this trouble for something I paid for. Looks like MB jumped the shark and is about to go down the drain. I knew it was too good to be true

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Posted (edited)

All what trouble? Activate/De-Activate from your own personal account that manages your licenses? Very easy to do. We even have many elderly people that claim they're not good at computers that have easily been able to sign up and manage it. Would you like assistance on getting that setup @PaulTall


Find my premium license key
https://support.malwarebytes.com/docs/DOC-1264

Create your My Account profile
https://support.malwarebytes.com/docs/DOC-1036

Once setup is complete, you are logged into My Account, where you can:

    manage your subscriptions
    view your order history
    retrieve your license keys
    deactivate your licenses
    download the latest Malwarebytes software
    update your billing information

Your My Account profile only shows purchases registered to your login email.  You must set up a new My Account login for each email address you have registered with Malwarebytes.

My Account Login Page
https://my.malwarebytes.com/

Contact Malwarebytes Support
https://support.malwarebytes.com/community/consumer/pages/contact-us

 

If you do need additional help please let us know and we'll be more than happy to assist you.

I even have a couple of lifetime licenses of my own from before I was an employee and they're still valid 10 years later. I did have to request assistance from our licensing team though to get them added properly. If you're unable to complete on your own someone from our Support Team can take care of that for you. Then once added you'll no longer need to contact our Support to manage your licenses on your own.

 

Thank you

Ron

Edited by AdvancedSetup
updated information

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Posted (edited)

I already did all of that before posting. I've been with MB for 10 years so you're not talking to a newb

Edited by AdvancedSetup
removed unneeded quote

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Just trying to understand your complaint and help you if needed. The entire process to deactivate and reactivate is less than 60 seconds if you have your account already setup.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
2 minutes ago, AdvancedSetup said:

Just trying to understand your complaint and help you if needed. The entire process to deactivate and reactivate is less than 60 seconds if you have your account already setup.

Just an update, my case is still pending resolution. 

I have access to my account (email used when purchasing from Malwarebytes). 

But no subscription is listed there & I still cannot link my license to my account. 

 

Screenshot_20190628_120157.jpg

Screenshot_20190628_120236.jpg

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
2 hours ago, AdvancedSetup said:

Support should be following up with you sometime later today @hnkhoh

Thank you again for using Malwarebytes

Ron

 

Ron, 

I can confirmed this issue has been fixed now. 

Mod,

You may close this thread. 

Thank you to all of you for the help! 

 

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
This topic is now closed to further replies.

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

This site uses cookies - We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better. You can adjust your cookie settings, otherwise we'll assume you're okay to continue.