Malwarebytes compatibility with Norton Security

Hi,

I have Norton Security installed and running on my computer. Can I have Malwarebytes simultaneously runing on the same PC?

Do you consider that this is a good idea? Because I am not an expert on cybersecurity, I would like to know your oppinion.

Do both programs working together cover more harmfull cases than only one?' Maybe it is a bad idea? or Maybe not?

Thank you very much in advance!😉

Greetings,

The two programs should work fine together as Malwarebytes has been developed to be as compatible as possible with other security programs in real-time, especially antivirus.  That said, you may be able to improve overall system performance and responsiveness a bit by creating exclusions in the two programs for one another.  The list of items to exclude from Norton for Malwarebytes can be found in this support article and I would suggest excluding Norton's program folder(s) (likely located under C:\Program Files and/or C:\Program Files (x86)) along with any Norton/Symantec data folder(s) located under C:\ProgramData using the method described under the Exclude a File or Folder section of this support article.  Of course also be sure to exclude, if possible, Malwarebytes' processes/files from any HIPS and firewall components as well for the best results and to ensure that Malwarebytes is able to reach the web to download updates and use its cloud heuristics functionality.

If you do have any trouble please let us know and we will gladly assist you, but I don't expect that you'll have any trouble between the two as it is a fairly common combination for many of our users/customers.

Hi AlexYanes:

I've noticed the following issues running Norton Security v22.x and Malwarebytes Premium v3.x together in realtime protection mode, even after adding mutual scan exclusions to both products.