Jump to content


Go to solution Solved by Dashke,

Recommended Posts

On my computer on multiple browsers backup-utility.com gets an access denied message. When I checked HostsMan it was there under hpHost GRM list with and without the "www.".

This is a website for the renowned AOMEI backup product.

I searched the term at hosts-file.net, and I got "No records found". but my HOSTS file says what it says.

I tried to register at forum.hosts-file.net, but I ran into an absolutely impossible captcha just when I was about to finish, over and over again. I have emailed them about that, with screenshots.

Link to post
Share on other sites

According to the information on hosts-file.net , GRM means Grass Roots Marketing.  It may be an FP or it's possible they've participated in some sort of spammy marketing campaign for their products; the Research/hpHosts team would have to respond as to which might be the case:

GRM - Sites engaged in astroturfing (otherwise known as grass roots marketing) or spamming

For full details on what constitues astroturfing, please see;


Link to post
Share on other sites

By the way, I just visited www.aomeitech.com (which wasn't blocked by the HOSTS file) and tried downloading their free backup solution, and as soon as I clicked the download button it displayed a dialog box requiring my email address to proceed.  If they are using email addressed acquired this way to send out spam/marketing materials then that could be the reason for the block.  Do keep in mind that I don't work for the Malwarebytes Research team or hosts-file.net so this is just speculation on my part based on my own investigations.

Link to post
Share on other sites

Right, it's not Malwarebytes Web Protection blocking it, it's the HOSTS file from hosts-file.net (AKA hpHosts, which is owned and run by Malwarebytes/Steven Burn, head of Web Research for Malwarebytes).  The OP posted here due to issues signing up on the hosts-file.net forums (incidentally hosts-file.net is acting really slow/failing to connect for me when trying to search its database; an issue I'm going to report to the team).

Steven should be able to get it sorted out whether it's a legit block or an FP.

Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    • No registered users viewing this page.
Back to top
  • Create New...

Important Information

This site uses cookies - We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better. You can adjust your cookie settings, otherwise we'll assume you're okay to continue.