Jump to content

Grr, why? [Possible false alarm - vDos.info]


Recommended Posts

As a DOS enthusiast, I often look for solutions to more optimally emulate DOS or run old programs on modern systems, and one program I've been eyeing for a long time was something called vDOS.
However, I recently attempted to pay the vDOS page a visit, only to run into this:



However, I don't want to jump the gun and immediately report this as a false positive. I want to find out if there's actually some credibility to MBAM freaking out about this website. As such, I've provided the URL for the website in question (but not hyperlinked) so that the experts or other community members can help investigate.

- https://vdos.info/
- https://vdos.info/faqs.html

There are a lot of grammatical errors because the developer doesn't natively speak English (which is probably one of the reasons MBAM finds the website suspicious), but in the FAQs page, there are a lot of detailed instructions, and they even mention making sure that your AV software is up-to-date, checking VirusTotal, etc. They even provide the source code for the software, so that definitely scores some points in my book for legitimacy. However, you can never be too careful.

You guys let me know what the verdict is in regards to the website and program actually being safe or not. Godspeed!
Link to post

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    • No registered users viewing this page.
Back to top
  • Create New...

Important Information

This site uses cookies - We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better. You can adjust your cookie settings, otherwise we'll assume you're okay to continue.