Jump to content
David-B

YTD Video Downloader Program Files Detected as PUP

Recommended Posts

Hi,

The image url you attached isn't working, but this isn't a false positive.

It's a valid detection as Potentially Unwanted Software.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Oh okay. Should I add it to my exceptions list then? YTD is a program that I've voluntarily installed on my machine. Is it malicious in some way or does it just have a bad reputation from being bundled with some sketchy software?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I just downloaded that program an no PUP at the installer

Only when launch the program, a window like any other program than want you buy the full version (like WinRAR)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
9 minutes ago, leo3487 said:

I just downloaded that program an no PUP at the installer

Only when launch the program, a window like any other program than want you buy the full version (like WinRAR)

That shouldn't make it a PUP though. There's nothing unusual about a free version of a program encouraging you to buy the paid version.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If you installed it voluntarily, you can add an exclusion for it.

This is what most also get after installing: gNlAlsW.png

Where it asks/warns you to scan your computer.

It's different for every person, what they get after install.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The current version of YTD (installed and working since one year) has been detected by Malwarebyte as being Malware during  last night scan, previous nigh that wasn't the case;  What could be the reason?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

@miekiemoes Thanks for sharing that. I've installed it on multiple computers and I've never seen that. Unless I just habitually close it without paying attention.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 10/27/2018 at 12:18 AM, miekiemoes said:

If you installed it voluntarily, you can add an exclusion for it.

This is what most also get after installing: 

Where it asks/warns you to scan your computer.

It's different for every person, what they get after install.

Anyone with paid copies seeing this kind of stuff? When I had the free version I always knew to be on guard for extra stuff but this is over the top. I hope they learn from this. We have 3 paid copies here so no issues.

 --

Jim

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 10/31/2018 at 8:58 PM, jnugent said:

Anyone with paid copies seeing this kind of stuff? When I had the free version I always knew to be on guard for extra stuff but this is over the top. I hope they learn from this. We have 3 paid copies here so no issues.

 --

Jim

 

I never saw it

Just now I tried install at work pc but Symantec Endpoint Security deleted it, saying than an Insight detection [I no trust at Insight, but our admins activate all by default]

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 10/27/2018 at 2:18 AM, miekiemoes said:

If you installed it voluntarily, you can add an exclusion for it.

This is what most also get after installing: gNlAlsW.png

Where it asks/warns you to scan your computer.

It's different for every person, what they get after install.

As I guess from your post, it is a post install, the program open your default browser at a page of the autors offering other programs. Completelly different than an install than offer PUPs before install

And is not a Home Page hijack

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

This site uses cookies - We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better. You can adjust your cookie settings, otherwise we'll assume you're okay to continue.