How can detect a file that was infected throuh hash code?

h4niz

Hello you guys, I'm a student.

When I study malware, I wonder how we can detect a file that was infected? I google and then knowing that, AV, and some sandboxs detect malware through hash256. Howerver, I can not understand how it works. Please help me know, how we can hash a file then compare with hash database? 

Thanks for reading!

A hash value is a CheckSum value.  It is a mathematical representation of a binary.  Supposedly each file will have a unique checksum value.  Thus a checksum value can be used to represent a particular file.  If a File Infecting Virus alters a given binary, the Checksum value for that binary will change.

A hash Table is basically a library of CheckSum values.  An algorithm is used to generate a CheckSum value and it is them compared to the values in said library.

1 hour ago, David H. Lipman said:

A hash value is a CheckSum value.  It is a mathematical representation of a binary.  Supposedly each file will have a unique checksum value.  Thus a checksum value can be used to represent a particular file.  If a File Infecting Virus alters a given binary, the Checksum value for that binary will change.

A hash Table is basically a library of CheckSum values.  An algorithm is used to generate a CheckSum value and it is them compared to the values in said library.

Thank you for reply! But as you said, a checksum value can be used to represent a particalar file, so how can we detect which malware that infect into file? For example: If we have a infected file, how can we detect that it was infected and which malware infected through checksum? And if we upload that file onto virustotal.com, how it detects malware?

You asked... " so how can we detect which malware that infect into file "