Jump to content
BendBob

Chrome displays white page and the url clicked on

Recommended Posts

When I'm visiting Google News and click a link a few things happen:

1. A new window opens (expected as news link do that)

2. The new page displays as white with this text at the top: "Opening https://www.somesite.com/?X=something" (not expected)GoogleWhitewithURL.thumb.jpg.843964a50e6c97d933cee87ec8fbd866.jpg

3. After a few seconds the expected page displays. Am I hacked, or is mining happening or is google just another pain in the butt?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hello and Welcome!

What browser are you using to read your news?

Lets try this new tool called Malwarebytes Support Tool to gather some logs.

  1. Download Malwarebytes Support Tool
  2. Once the file is downloaded, open your Downloads folder/location of the downloaded file
  3. Double-click mb-support-X.X.X.XXXX.exe to run the program
    • You may be prompted by User Account Control (UAC) to allow changes to be made to your computer. Click Yes to consent.
  4. Place a checkmark next to Accept License Agreement and click Next
  5. You will be presented with a page stating, "Welcome to the Malwarebytes Support Tool!"
  6. Click the Advanced Options link
  7. The Advanced Options page has two options, please choose one:
    • Gather Logs: Collects troubleshooting information from the computer using Check and Grab functionality. As part of this process, Farbar Recovery Scan Tool (FRST) is also run to perform a complete diagnosis of the computer. The troubleshooting information is saved to a file on the Desktop named mbst-grab-results.zip. This file can be added as an email attachment or uploaded to a forum post and will assist your Malwarebytes Support agent with troubleshooting the issue currently being experienced.
    • Clean: Performs an automated uninstallation of all Malwarebytes products currently installed to the computer and prompts to install the latest version of Malwarebytes for Windows afterwards. This process may require a reboot of the computer, which must be manually consented to.
  8. To provide logs for review click the Gather Logs button
  9. A progress bar will appear and the program will proceed to gather troubleshooting information from your computer
  10. Upon completion, click OK
  11. A file named mbst-grab-results.zip will be saved to your Desktop
  12. Please attach the file in your next reply.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It's most likely just Google's referral system.  It handles things like telemetry tracking to determine users' interests etc. in an attempt to gather data to make their products better (and of course improve their advertising to increase their company's profits).  It doesn't look like anything malicious to me and most search engines seem to work this way (especially Google, and especially lately as I've noticed even their image search does things like this, routing them through their own link first before connecting you to the site/image you seek).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

This site uses cookies - We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better. You can adjust your cookie settings, otherwise we'll assume you're okay to continue.