Jump to content

microsoft auto referral claims I have pornware error 0x80072ee7

Recommended Posts

when I go to download drivers for my Couger 600M mouse, as referred to on the mouse's instruction box,
I am referred to 810-8302&bk=72e60765
and given a "microsoft" warning about pornware and riskware being installed and that if I don't call this number
888-810-8302 in less than five minutes that all my credintials will be stolen. a voice in a british accent claims error 0x80072ee7, it is not the cortana voice but I want to know if my computer is truely infected with this stuff or if it is a hoax.
please referr to screenshot.
I have also reported this site and phonenumber via microsoft feedback.




Edited by AdvancedSetup
removed hyperlinks
Link to post
Share on other sites

It is 100% fraud, not a hoax.  It is not a hoax because it is not a fake story and their is deliberant intent for its creation.   They are all nefarious web sites meant to defraud you of money. The objective is to, falsely, goad you to make the phone call and pay for some service contract for an incident that never happened.  From there they may continue to charge your Credit Card for other services, remote into your computer and do real damage and/or exfiltrate your personal data and they may use the information they obtain from you to commit additional frauds.

I have created a 1series of videos generated from these fraud sites for the purposes of recognition and education.  They are all  videos from real web sites.  ALL are FRAUDS.


I have also created a PDF ScreenShow of a myriad of FakeAlert screens - FakeAlert-Screens.pdf  /  Flash Version

** I submitted this site on your behalf;  Microsoft FakeAlert

US FBI PSA - Tech Support Scam


1.  Also located at "My Online Security" - Some videos of typical tech support scams


Edited by David H. Lipman
Spelling, Grammar and Clarification
Link to post
Share on other sites

is there any thing malicious on my computer as of now. trojans or other malware that would run as I browse?  I did nothing except end up on that site. and click "leave"(which by the pics and vids you sent know it wasn't the best thign to do) I assume powering down the PC is best. but I wanted to be certain no phishing or trojans got stuck on as a result of being autoreferred to that weird site, refer to my farbar logs.

I am going to assume what had happened was when I typed http://www.cogar-world.com/ the correct site name for the hardware is http://www.cougar-world.com/ "u key in cougar-world did not regsiter on my keyboard(as this is not a mechanical keyboard keys often misregister on most membrane keyboards these days, and the typo got me onto a bad site.


thanks for the info!

Edited by arkhaan
Link to post
Share on other sites

thank you for that

odd I have been unable to find info on that error message being connected to porn or risk or any microsoft related problem beyond what it is truely intended to mean MS store error.  

Link to post
Share on other sites

  • Root Admin

Glad we could help.

If you need this topic reopened, please send a Private Message to any one of the moderating team members. Please include a link to this topic with your request.

This applies only to the originator of this thread.Other members who need assistance please start your own topic in a new thread.



Link to post
Share on other sites

This topic is now closed to further replies.
  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    • No registered users viewing this page.
Back to top
  • Create New...

Important Information

This site uses cookies - We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better. You can adjust your cookie settings, otherwise we'll assume you're okay to continue.