MBAE stopped loading properly

MalJ

TOPIC:  MBAE stopped loading properly

I had been using MBAE beta successfully for several years on a Windows 7 SP1 (64-bit) installation. Recently, however, without any known system change or probable reason, I began to see a warning message after booting, indicating that the "service is taking too long to load" (image attached). Nothing changed after following the suggestion to reboot.

When I then attempted to start the service manually, I got the message that Windows was unable to do so for the same reason--load time was too long (image attached).

I then tried uninstalling, rebooting, downloading the latest version (1-12-1-42), installing, and rebooting. Now, I get no warning popup. However, no MBAE process exists. The Registry shows that the MBAE service is installed, and set to start type 2 (automatic) the service. However, although it is shown in the installed Services list, it remains in the stopped status.

I repeated that entire uninstall > reinstall process with a version that had worked previously, and with a 2nd download of the current version. Neither activity resolved the situation.

There is no malware problem on the machine. I have Webroot SecureAnywhere loaded, and it has not shown any problems. Its scans are clean. I even tried setting it not to block any of the MBAE executables, even though it would have shown me a popup message if it had been doing that.

Please advise how to proceed.

XPS410_SSD128_'Malwarebytes Anti-Exploit Service is taking too long to start'.png

XPS410_SSD128_Malwarebytes Anti-Exploit Service can't be started.png

Malwarebytes Anti-Exploit (Program Files x86 directory)_AS UPLOADED.zip

Malwarebytes Anti-Exploit (ProgramData directory)_AS UPLOADED.zip

• Staff

Hi MalJ,

Thanks for posting.

From the logs, it looks like there might be a permission issue.