Crypto-Ransomware Research Specimens

s1510647

Hello,

The team managing the Facebook page for MalwareBytes has asked me to put my request in the forums for the research team.

I am a Level 6 University student, studying Forensic Computing. I'm researching Crypto-Ransomware for my dissertation, for which I require a reliable and verifiable means of obtaining some specimens of Crypto-Ransomware. My tutor has confirmed that this is vital for  my paper, hence why i am hoping that MalwareBytes could provide some assistance by either providing some samples, or pointing me in the right direction with regards to this.

I am of course happy to send my initial paper to MalwareBytes directly etc.

Thanks,

M. Robbins

Final year student

Please do NOT seek cryptovirology based or other forms of malware samples.  They will not be provided.

If you are a "Level 6 University student, studying Forensic Computing " then hopefully you are taking courses in Ethical Hacking, in the process of obtaining a CISSP.  If that is the case, , you can FIND samples on your own.

3 hours ago, David H. Lipman said:

Please do NOT seek cryptovirology based or other forms of malware samples.  They will not be provided.

If you are a "Level 6 University student, studying Forensic Computing " then hopefully you are taking courses in Ethical Hacking, in the process of obtaining a CISSP.  If that is the case, , you can FIND samples on your own.

I am aware of the dangers of obtaining specimens and naturally, isolated environments when configured correctly will provide ample protection, I have conducted Malware Forensics before this. However, for the sake of my Dissertation, I have to use a reliable source to obtain the samples as opposed to simple public/forum-based repositories. Hence the question. The MalwareBytes Facebook team did point me in this direction, so indeed I presume it is okay to request this. Perhaps an email would be more suitable, gathering your response.