Windows 10 mbamswissarmy.sys causing automatic repair loop

Hi,

This morning I woke up to my laptop finishing a Win 10 update, but a few things seemed wrong. At first there was no audio, so I restarted. Then the audio was way too loud, so I thought something might be wrong with the driver, and I restarted. This whole time, Malwarebytes was trying to download an update, same as it usually does every so often. After I finally gave in and updated, I restarted again. After that, I got a BSOD saying mbamswissarmy.sys was corrupted and that Windows 10 was gathering data to try to repair.

The repair failed and now I'm in an automatic repair loop, where the repair fails and directs me to a Logfile called SrtTrail.txt or something. I don't have any restore points to go back to, and resetting the computer "keeping personal files" fails instantly too. I can access the command prompt, though it's a bit weird because it says X:\windows\system32> when I thought my hard drive was C:\. 

But I've seen other topics about this get resolved here with some kind of FRST tool? I do have an external hard drive with some free space on it that I can use as a USB drive. If there's a way to fix this issue, I'd greatly appreciate any help. Thanks!

Hello alevanidov and welcome to Malwarebytes,

Download and save FRST or FRST64 (depending on your version of windows) to a USB flash drive from the following link:

http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/download/farbar-recovery-scan-tool/

Next,

Boot sick PC to Recovery Environment, if you are unsure of that action have a read at the following link, maybe bookmark for future reference...

https://www.tenforums.com/tutorials/2294-boot-advanced-startup-options-windows-10-a.html

Next,

From the Windows 10 Tutorial you should get access to the Advanced Startup Options at boot for Windows 10

user posted image

From that window select "Troubleshoot"

user posted image

From the next window select "Advance Options"

user posted image