When Malwarebytes finds some malicious (mostly adware or PUP) settings/startpages/searchengines in your Chrome, it will address this. (Note, Malwarebytes doesn't really delete the Chrome Secure Preferences file when a detection occurs) However, some of you may notice it will always come back after the Malwarebytes scan. In that case, it might be because you are still using an older version of Malwarebytes, and/or it's most likely because you have Chrome Sync enabled. The following instructions need to be done in the EXACT order as outlined below in this post.   So first of all, make sure you have the latest version of malwarebytes installed (currently 3.4.5): https://www.malwarebytes.com/mwb-download/ Perform another scan, make sure Google Chrome is closed, have it remove what it has found, reboot if being asked to. Then verify if the detection is gone. If not... then it's most probably because of Chrome Sync that is enabled. To deal with this, please follow the steps below in the exact order as outlined: Open your Chrome.  Go to Settings > People > Sync (or alternatively, enter the following in the addressbar: chrome://settings/syncSetup) On the page, you'll see what synced data is enabled. Move all sliders to the left in order to disable all the syncing. Then click the "Manage synced data on Google Dashboard" (2) in order to open Google Dashboard. On Google Dashboard, at the bottom, click to "Reset Sync" - Click OK at the prompt. Close your Chrome browser. Do NOT enable sync yet, as you need to perform another scan with Malwarebytes first in order to fix Chrome. Perform a new scan with Malwarebytes and let it delete what it has found. Reboot in case it asks to reboot. Verify after a next scan the detection doesn't occur anymore. If results come back clean, you can enable Google Sync again. It will ask for your username first, in order to log in - Once that is done, it should automatically enable Sync again. You can adjust the sliders what you want to sync. If you have multiple Operating systems, run malwarebytes on it first before logging back into Chrome. This to make sure the malware is also cleaned from the other PC(s). If not cleaned, it will sync the malware from the "uncleaned" PC back again to the server and then back to your clean PC.