Jasc Paint Shop Photo Album 2003

Hi.

I've been using Jasc Paint Shop Photo Album since 2003 without any problems. Yesterday evening while working on a new photo file MWB suddenly came up with pop-ups stating pspa was ransom ware and had been quarantined and that I needed to restart my PC. I tried to get out of this as I knew pspa was not ransomware but nothing seemed to work and I had to restart my PC. From then on things went from bad to worse, so bad I ended up uninstalling the program and running CCleaner to remove traces from the registry.

I have reinstalled the program but am unable to install the subsequent pspa patch I have that has always installed previously, through win 98 to win 10 64. Worked fine in Win 10 for about 2+ years. When attempting install the patch it advises the program in not installed or the patch is wrong for the program. The program is installed in the same 'program files (x86)' as it was before so don't understand why the patch cannot find it.

The program now allows me to access my photo files but am unable to save any changes, the 'save' and 'save as' or both greyed out, I can change and rotate photos but not save them. I am not sure what has gone wrong and being a pensioner not too hot on these subjects. I can only guess that somewhere along the screw up a setting has changed. I have checked the security tab of the files and this seems to show full access for all users, but hey guys I am just poking and hoping I stumble across something that might sort it.

14 years without a problem in all incarnations of Windows then MWB comes along and ...............!! This is very annoying as I was working on a set of photos just back from a cruise and pray that the files are not corrupted after the false ransomware error.:(

Hopefully someone will be able to give me some idea as to what may be the problem and more importantly, how to fix it.:D

Thanks for any help.

Alan.

MWB Log for pspa.txt

• Staff