Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
TraptPatriot

AD Synced Groups, Transfer to Local Groups?

Recommended Posts

Hi everyone,

In MMC, is it possible to move workstations from an Active Directory synced group/folder to a locally created group/folder?

Example, I add an AD OU as a MMC folder called Workstations. The workstations with and without the client sync to the folder. Currently, I am unable to find a way to move a workstation with the client to another folder, one that I created within MMC.

My reasoning for asking this is because I would like to remove the AD OU synced folder and only use locally created folders. Is this possible?

Thanks in advance for any assistance!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi @TraptPatriot, no there is not a way to do that. Machines in an AD OU group are just listed under a mirror of your actual AD, they cannot be moved or changed. Any changes while using this config must be done in your AD for it to reflect within the console's AD mirror. You can delete your AD OU as a group (this will not affect your deployment, right click the AD OU group and select remove) and create your own set of local group folders to move the machines around as you see fit, if you prefer to organize your MB deployment in this way.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi @djacobson, thanks for the response! I just want to confirm that if I remove the AD OU group, it will not remove the clients.

I am only asking because when I right-click and select remove, it states "Are you sure you want to permanently remove this group? All clients under this group will be removed too."

Any clarification on what happens would be great! Thanks again!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It's only removing the AD mirror, to clarify what it is saying, it means you'll lose that organization but this will not uninstall the clients, the client view doesn't have that kind of power. It is the client itself that controls its own communication, nothing you do within client view can remove the software from the endpoint itself. After you delete the group, the clients will just check-in under ungrouped clients. From there you can create your own folder tree to organize them.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

This site uses cookies - We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better. You can adjust your cookie settings, otherwise we'll assume you're okay to continue.