Jump to content

About Your Popup that will not go away


Recommended Posts

A search of " Malwarebytes popup" on Google shows this is not only my problem.  I updated MalwareBytes and was _forced_ to take a free trial - yes I said forced! I un-ticked the box and it loaded up anyway. The free trail has been over for a week and every time I reboot or restart I get the popup asking me if I am sure I did not want it. 

Usually, there is a term for a program that loads unwanted content - kind of ironic for a product which is supposed to remove unwanted contact.  It even seems like this is being made harder: 'Just tick this box', was all I could find as a release from this.  July 2017 and the box _is not there_.   Why would you remove the only easy way to stop this annoying thing from happening? I have _everything_ on the 'Settings' page turned off.

I will never click and take the professional update.  Not quite annoying enough to find something else, as when I want it to work it does so perfectly.  

 

Attached is the hated popup that will never go away.  Please tell me the company can figure out how to remove this annoying thing.  Is there away to back date to an earlier version?

 

[It has been a long time since I posted here.  My old name is being used now.  I thought it was me but my email was not recognized.]

mb 1.JPG

Link to post
Share on other sites

Let us get a clean install of the current version.

We have another tool called MB-Clean which will automate the whole process for you.

 Tool can be found at https://downloads.malwarebytes.com/file/mb_clean

1. After downloading the tool run the tool.

2. The tool will automatically clean up the older possibly damaged installation and will ask you for a restart.

3. Restart your system and then the MB-Clean tool will prompt you to re-install the latest product .

4. Click on "Yes" to reinstall MB 3.×.

5. Now you will have the latest product installed.

Please let me know if you are still seeing issues after the latest product install.

If you have the trial again you can turn it off directly under MY Account settings.

 

Link to post
Share on other sites

23 hours ago, dcollins said:

You should be able to click Ok with that second option selected ("Stay downgraded") and the message should go away. When you dismiss that message, are you clicking the X or OK?

I move the choice to Stay downgraded and click OK

Link to post
Share on other sites

On 7/7/2017 at 1:19 PM, Porthos said:

Let us get a clean install of the current version.

We have another tool called MB-Clean which will automate the whole process for you.

 Tool can be found at https://downloads.malwarebytes.com/file/mb_clean

1. After downloading the tool run the tool.

2. The tool will automatically clean up the older possibly damaged installation and will ask you for a restart.

3. Restart your system and then the MB-Clean tool will prompt you to re-install the latest product .

4. Click on "Yes" to reinstall MB 3.×.

5. Now you will have the latest product installed.

Please let me know if you are still seeing issues after the latest product install.

If you have the trial again you can turn it off directly under MY Account settings.

 

Everything worked out fine.  I feel I do not need to attach the log.  I rebooted to check and saw no popup.  I do not see a 'solved' button to press.  Thank you!

Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
 Share

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    • No registered users viewing this page.
Back to top
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

This site uses cookies - We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better. You can adjust your cookie settings, otherwise we'll assume you're okay to continue.