Nexus Client being marked as ransomware

TofuDrift

This is my first time posting on this forum, so I apologize in advance for any formatting errors.

The Nexus Client is a program provided by nexusmods.com for the purpose of managing modifications that can be applied to games that support it like The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim, The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion, Fallout: New Vegas, and so on. I have used this program for several years without encountering a virus. However, Malwarebytes has recently begun quarantining the client whilst I am in the process of installing modifications to my games; I believe that these are false positives, as the modifications that I am installing have been downloaded and installed by thousands of other users without any problems, not to mention the fact that they have already been scanned on VirusTotal with zero detections. I managed to reproduce the false positive by attempting to install an already-installed modification; overwriting the files in the installation process, I managed to trigger the quarantine of the Nexus Client. I do not know the root cause of these detections; but, I am guessing it is linked to the installation process, as I have not experienced a detection while the client is idle or downloading modifications.

I have since scanned the client on VirusTotal (https://www.virustotal.com/en/file/d372f686b789f7646f661b272d95e276932f4a42af7cefe7ae51afe508e423cc/analysis/) with the SHA256 being listed as the following:

d372f686b789f7646f661b272d95e276932f4a42af7cefe7ae51afe508e423cc

-Log Details-
Protection Event Date: 4/21/17
Protection Event Time: 10:38 PM
Logfile:
Administrator: Yes

-Software Information-
Version: 3.0.6.1469
Components Version: 1.0.103
Update Package Version: 1.0.1777
License: Premium

-System Information-
CPU: x64
File System: NTFS
User: System

-Ransomware Details-
File: 1
Malware.Ransom.Agent.Generic, C:\Program Files\Nexus Mod Manager\NexusClient.exe, Quarantined, [0], [-1],0.0.0

(end)