The anti-exploit module - How does it actually works?

Hi! This is not a question to criticize or to report any problems with the Malwarebytes 3 Anti-Exploit module... but in the documentation provided with Malwarebytes 3 there is nothing that details how the Anti-Exploit really works and what are each of these exploit methods it protects against and how or what the AE does in each of these methods.

I trust that the Anti-Exploit works, but I am an IT student and even that maybe it is a bit of 'overkill' for me to trying to know how it works while I'm only a mere graduate student, but I still want to learn more about it, I'm very curious. I wonder if there is any document detailing these anti-exploit methods and how the software handles them?

Thanks!

Edited by axkazex93

Hi axkazex93,

The principle behind a lot of exploit mechanisms can be found in the user manual of EMET.
You can download it from

https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=50802

I hope this will help, if you have any questions, feel free to ask. I can't promise I can answer them though.

Regards,
Durew (not an IT student nor an IT professional)

Hello @axkazex93 and :welcome:

In a very simplistic explanation, the original Malwarebytes Anti-Exploit (MBAE) product has been modularized and married to MB3 as its AE Module.  Many of the questions/answers within the original MBAE FAQ may provide some enlightenment.  Please remember that MB3 and MBAE are proprietary products of the Malwarebytes Corporation and revealing trade secrets and code are never possible.

HTH

23 minutes ago, Aura said:

In addition to what was saying above, you could always Google each protection mecanism offered by Anti-Exploit, and get a brief explanation of how it works. Though like 1PW stated, the "special recipe" belongs to Malwarebytes Corporation and won't be revealed publicly.