Jump to content

Restart problems


Recommended Posts

I have had Malwarebytes 3.0 Premium installed for two days now. Every time I restart my computer, Malwarebytes 3.0 Premium reverts back to the free version! I have to reactivate my license each time. I am running Windows 10 Home. Any ideas? I have uninstalled 3.0 and downloaded it again just in case the was a problem with the download. It still does the same thing.

Link to post
Share on other sites

  • Staff

Hello ulta07,

To help us figure out why this is happening, could you please carry out the steps below:?

STEP 1:

Can you please attach a copy of the MBAMService.log located in the following folder?
c:\ProgramData\Malwarebytes\MBAMService\logs

In order to locate the file, you'll need to be able to see hidden folders.

STEP 2:

This next scanner will not make any changes to your machine on its own, nor will it divulge any personal information that may compromise your security.

  Please download Farbar Recovery Scan Tool from here http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/download/farbar-recovery-scan-tool/ and save it to your desktop.

Note: You need to run the version compatible with your system

  **After you click the Download Now 64-bit, or the Download Now 32-bit, another page will open -- DO NOT CLICK ANY ADDITIONAL 'download now' buttons, just wait and look toward the bottom of your browser for the option to Run or Save. Click Save.

•Double-click to run it. When the tool opens click Yes to the disclaimer.

Note: If you are prompted by Windows SmartScreen, click More info followed by Run anyway.

•Click the Scan button.

•When the scan has finished, it will make produce 2 logs in the same directory the tool is run. Please attach the following logs to your next reply:

FRST.txt

Addition.txt.

STEPS 3 & 4

Please zip and send me the following folder via PM.:

 c:\ProgramData\Malwarebytes\MBAMService\config 

After you send me that folder, reboot the machine.  If you had to activate again, repeat the above procedure and send me the new config folder.

(the contents get overwritten, so please do it in the order I listed above)

Link to post
Share on other sites

Ried, I wonder if an old file was not getting deleted when I was trying to upgrade to 3.0.4, so when I restarted the computer it would load 3.0.0? Since using the 3rd party uninstaller every thing is running fine and shows up as 3.0.4 Premium. Thanks for all of your help! Could the self-protection mode have made that happen?

Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
 Share

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    • No registered users viewing this page.
Back to top
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

This site uses cookies - We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better. You can adjust your cookie settings, otherwise we'll assume you're okay to continue.