Compatibility of MBAM with Bitdefender?

I have a used MBAM Premium for years and have just started using Bitdefender.  

Bitdefender will not update if MBAM is running.  They tell me I have to uninstall it.  I don't want to because every now and then it catches something! They say I am making a mistake; running two programs just makes each less effective.

What do you  think?  Is there anyway to make the two co-exist?  Thanks.

3 hours ago, Toller said:

I have a used MBAM Premium for years and have just started using Bitdefender.  

Bitdefender will not update if MBAM is running.  They tell me I have to uninstall it.  I don't want to because every now and then it catches something! They say I am making a mistake; running two programs just makes each less effective.

What do you  think?  Is there anyway to make the two co-exist?  Thanks.

I'm not sure if this will work, others might have better ideas but did you try excluding each other?

Just go to your AntiVirus Exclusions & exclude  C:\Program Files\Malwarebytes\Anti-Malware\MbamPt.exe
C:\Program Files\Malwarebytes\Anti-Malware\mbam.exe
C:\Program Files\Malwarebytes\Anti-Malware\assistant.exe
C:\Program Files\Malwarebytes\Anti-Malware\MBAMWsc.exe
C:\Program Files\Malwarebytes\Anti-Malware\mbamtray.exe
C:\Program Files\Malwarebytes\Anti-Malware\MBAMService.exe 

Toller:

Welcome to the Malwarebytes Anti-Malware Forum.  I have used Bitdefender successfully for years with MBAM Premium and MBAE Premium.  I am now running Bitdefender 2017 Total Security, and for a change, I didn't even have to uninstall MBAM or MBAE to upgrade from BDTS2016 to BDTS2017.

As recommended, I did set exclusions in Bitdefender for both MBAM and MBAE.  For MBAM, you want to add these files, located in: C:\Program Files (x86)\Malwarebytes Anti-Malware, to the virus scanning exclusion list in Bitdefender:

1. mbam.exe
  2. mbamdor.exe
  3. mbampt.exe
  4. mbamresearch.exe
  5. mbamscheduler.exe
  6. mbamservice.exe