"threat scan was cancelled"

I recently installed the latest version of Malwarebytes and successfully did a scan. I also updated Firefox to latest version. Since then I get repeated crashes of Firefox with errors such as 'plugin container failed',  'avgmfapx.exe has encountered a problem and needs to close', SDKDatabaseLoadDefaults failed with Code: 2', so I tried running Malwarebytes again and it gives message: 'Threat Scan was cancelled'. I'm running 32 bit WinXPpro SP3. I'm not a techie and don't always understand the jargon. Thanks for any help. Bob

Hello and welcome, @Bshap:

It sounds as if there is quite alot going on with this system (including possible malware infection), and it is an older computer (older hardware running Windows XP).

You *might* want to start with a proper clean reinstall of MBAM, by carefully following ALL of the steps here: MBAM Clean Removal Process 2x.

However, given the fact that you have lots of programs and applications crashing, it might be more efficient to get a bit of deeper, expert, free help.
That work is conducted in a different forum area.

So, I suggest starting with the advice here: Available Assistance for Possibly Infected Computers.
It explains the options for free, expert help >>AND<< the suggested, preliminary steps to expedite the process.
A malware analyst will assist you with looking into your issue - the helper will guide you through scanning, cleanup and repair, and with getting MBAM up and running.

Thank you,

Hello, again, @Bshap:

I see that you have opened a new topic in the malware removal section here:

https://forums.malwarebytes.org/topic/185857-threat-scan-was-cancelled/?do=getNewComment

Please wait for one of the malware helpers to assist you -- the helper will guide you through scanning, cleanup and repair.

If you are still having problems with MBAM or with other, non-malware-related issues on your PC after your helper gives you the all-clear, we will address those separately.

Thank you again,