Cannot update Malwarebytes or Windows 10 updates

Hi

After one of our computers was updated to Windows 10 we have been unable to do any updates for Windows 10 or for Malwarebytes. The windows updates won't even open the window to let us try and update and Malwarebytes says it is unable to access the update server. I have tried to google this problem and as I am new to Win10 it's getting me into more problems that it is solving I think as most suggestions will not allow me to do them.

I would appreciate any help for this.

thank you

A bit of an update - well here - not the computer! I did the clean boot and this at least allowed me to open up the windows update window and it then sought out and downloaded updates - however - the computer does not seem able to install them - it has been stuck at preparing to install updates 10% - and does not seem to be progressing with this at all.

I have manually opened up malwarebytes and tried to get it to update itself and unfortunately it still cannot.

Having reversed the steps in the link I currently cannot open the settings window again now either.

Hello and Welcome back...

Keep working with @Aura, I just wanted to mention that sometimes when updating to Windows 10, that sometimes messes with the Malwarebytes Program.  To get that working again, you could try the mbam-clean tool.

Please follow the steps in this pinned topic to uninstall your current version of MBAM and reinstall the latest build - MBAM Clean Removal Process 2x

Please let us know how it goes.

Thank You,

Firefox

To Aura - I have now managed to do get windows to do the updates but only after doing the clean boot.

To Firefox - thanks for your help too -  I have tried to work my way thru the link you sent but cannot find the HKEY thing so I googled it and think I know where to look - however the computer keeps denying me access saying I need a security tab. Aaaargh!